Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
64
4.8 out of 5 stars


on 2 August 2017
Never heard of Fairy Tail until I watched the 'FairyTail - Phoenix Princess' movie recently and was quite entertained.

Decided to get some Fairy Tail series boxes for the summer holidays. Its not Akira or Avatar, but the characters are endearingly 'over the top', theres plenty of action and laughs - and even a few serious moments. Very good, The cartoon style is interesting with vivid colours and the core characters generally having fairly bland 'big' faces, but some incidental characters have quite detailed faces.

The item arrived packed OK, on time and undamaged. The set consists of 4 DVDs is an oversized (probably double width) DVD box - four disk spindles, two on the inside of each cover and the four disks mounted in overlapping pairs. No extra content as far as I can see, just the episodes.

Be aware that Fairy Tale is a long running series spanning seven (maybe more?) seasons. The first four box sets (the ones that I bought) seem to be fairly priced and readily available. The subsequent ones seem to be expensive/rare Bluray or NTSC DVD only - hopefully they'll appear on UK DVD sooner rather than later, but the initial sets will keep us going for some time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2017
I was recommended this anime and watched it and am getting the second collection 😬
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2016
Fairy tale is a good a nine very light hearted and easy to watch. Would recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
Very nice
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2017
Nice
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2017
The best set love ❤️
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2014
Love this anime; it keeps me interested all the way through. Even filler episodes are highly entertaining to watch,
Would seriously recommend for anyone who is a fan of Naruto or One Piece.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2014
Probably one of the best animes on the Market! Witty humour, exciting action and brilliant art work. I definitely recommend this item!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2015
I absolutely love Fairy Tail. I find the characters really interesting and, for the most part, likeable. The writing and plot is good, and I really enjoy the lengthy arcs that they do. The characters and writing are good enough to pull you in, and prompt emotional reactions.

The packaging is sufficient and the artwork is nice.

WARNING: COLLECTION 5 ONWARDS IS NO LONGER PRODUCED IN THE UK.

I only recently discovered anime, and as I was due to have surgery, I bought a few DVD box sets to explore whilst I was recovering. I bought Collections 1-4 of Fairy Tail and noticed that Collection 5, according to Wikipedia, was due out in November in the UK.

It never came out.

Two weeks after the supposed release date and Manga UK were still ignoring all of my Facebook and Twitter messages. They also ignored e-mails to info@mangauk.com. They still haven't replied to this day actually.

Apparently, according to many trustworthy sources, Manga UK lost the distribution rights for Fairy Tail in the UK. You will now need a multi region DVD or Blu Ray player and will have to buy from abroad to get Collection 5 onwards (5 having only come out in November 2015). The US version might be cheapest, but it is a DVD/Blu-ray combo and so costs about £10 more than the UK one did. The packaging also includes the addition of a thick blue Blu-ray/DVD combo pack label across the top, which might upset people with OCD who have the first 4 collections with the different, UK packaging.

I did a lot of research into it and found one really, really, really, obscure announcement on an anime/manga website which officially announced Manga UK ceasing production after collection 4. It wasn't easy to find though and they still released collection 4 long after this announcement. For those like me, new to anime, buying these box sets after the one single announcement was made about the discontinuation of region 2 DVDs, then it's a little annoying.

Some US based vendors are listing the US region 1 box sets on the UK Amazon (thank you!).
review image
11 Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)