Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
9
4.9 out of 5 stars
AWB [VINYL]
Format: Vinyl|Change
Price:£17.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 8 August 2017
What a wonderful album. As a rock fan in the 1970's I was opposed to the funk takeover of everywhere at that time on principle. Exposure to this album put that prejudice straight and it's been a favourite since. Sounds fresh as a daisy still - timeless class. Great songs, and the vocals put it at the soul end of the funk spectrum.
Sound quality of this version is superb.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2004
This is a fantastic album, probably the best that I've ever heard. There is not a single weak song.
I bought this months ago and must have heard it a hundred times since then.
However, the music still sounds as fresh on the 101st listen as it did on the 1st.
I would definately recommend it. I love the falsetto.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2004
These guys come from the Dundee area (my home town) and their ironic name belies the fact that they are an extraordinary funk and soul outfit. Their influences are firmly rooted in the Motown/Stax sound as evinced here by their fantastic cover of the Isley bros. 'Work to Do' (They also went on to record an album with Ben E. King).
This album was released in 1974 and the standout track (which you will instantly recognise as soon as the funk guitar hook kicks in) is 'Pick Up the Pieces'. It has been a standard for funk and soul DJs up and down the country ever since. For me the funkier numbers are my favourites though the album mainly comprises harmony soul tracks. If you like Motown/Stax or just plain good soul music get this album. The harmonies are spot on and the playing is (very!) slick and tight.
I couldn't believe this had no review!
11 Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2006
If you are considering buying an AWB album, look no further, this is the very, very best. A wonderful record, not a bad track on it, and as funky as your head.
I remember sitting on the stairs in Bibas in Kensington High Street back in 1974, and thinking "it doesn't get much better than this" - and you know what? It hasn't!
A lovely, lovely record.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2006
This is without any doubt the greatest blue eyed soul album of all time.
There is nothing at all here that puts a foot wrong; the arrangements are fantastic, the musicianship stunning and the voices are sublime.
There is no filler, no treading water and nothing jarring. This is a delight from start to finish. A complete must have album.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2013
My ordered album arrived safely and well packaged on the due date, it is as described and sounds really great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2016
Classic album from the 70s, a must have for all white soul fans.Brilliant to have it on vinyl.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2015
great music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2017
good album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)