Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
25
4.5 out of 5 stars
Backbeats: Crossover To Soul - More Crossover Soul From The 60's and 70's
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.80+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 15 September 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2017
One of best soul compilations around love this :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2017
Just great soul music. Buy it and enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2013
Just a short history first.Not having an e.mail address of my own I am using my friends. My name is John Gravett and I was born in1945. In1960 I fell in love with soul music and still feel the same way about it to this day.Love all Motown, Stax, Atlantic, Chi-Town, Curtom etc, etc.Favourite act of all time The Dells. No Arguments. I tell you this so that you know where I'm coming from. Having bought 10 previous Backbeat CDs this one appealed to me purely from the title.Having discovered the track listing ( go to Backbeats own website) and found that this contained quite a few tracks I had forgotten about I ordered it. It arrived perfectly the following day and I have been in heaven ever since. Modern Crossover Two Steppers call it whatever you want,IT'S SUPERB. Stand out tracks? To hard to say! How about Barrino brothers Trapped In A Love, Johnnie Taylor You're The Best In The World, Winfield Parker Will There Be Another Love For Me, Will Hatcher Who Am I Without You Baby. Plus many other fantastic tracks from amongst others Willie Hutch, Syl Johnson, Lou Courtney and Ike Lovely. Special mention also to the distaff side especially Maxine Brown Its Gonna BeAlright and Queen Aretha with a stunner called One Step Beyond. Special praise should be given to Sean Hampsey who put this all together and Backbeat who released it. Buy it now and Keep The Faith
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2013
Excellent selection of 60s and 70s Crossover Soul. Backbeats continue to deliver music of the highest quality at a most reasonable price. Too many standout tracks, but I particularly love Maxine Brown's "It's Gonna Be Alright" and Aretha Franklin's "One Step Ahead".
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2013
This is a great CD - Ujima - had to buy the single. Aretha Franklin (all day long). Another great selection form the Backbeat collection.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2013
A fantastic mix of Crossover gems with liner notes by Sean Hampsey who knows a thing or two about rare soul music.
I love it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2013
Thankyou for the CD!!!! worth the wait, glad to get it. , much appreciated, good value for money and great music, thanks ange
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2013
A steal at this price for many rare soul gems. Well edited and mastered. Essential purchase for the collector. Recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2013
Brilliant Choices I rate 13 as Brilliant. Well worth the dosh. Yet another great album from backbeats. Reviewed by StefC Leek soul Club
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)