Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
47
4.7 out of 5 stars
Studio Albums 1978-1984
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


This set contains all Van Halen's albums from their self-titled debut to their world beating '1984' and is a chronicle of the Dave Lee Roth years. They are housed in simple thin card slipcases in a fold-open thick card outer box. None of the albums have inner sleeves or inserts. I'm not an audiophile so I won't comment on the musical quality of the CD's, but they sound pretty good to me. Van Halen were the essential US rock band during the transitional period for US rock from the FM radio dominance of AOR to the mid-eighties rise of hair metal via MTV. During the DLR phase of the bands career they saw Zeppelin disband, Kiss crumble, AOR like REO Speedwagon rise and then slowly start to fall with the advent of MTV and looks becoming as important as music. Between the release of 1984 which made them the biggest US rock band of the day, and the first Hagar album 5150 Motely Crue made inroads to mainstream success that laid the foundations for the dominance of Hair Metal, and Bon Jovi took over from the AOR bands by combining looks with hooks. If you're a casual fan then pick this up and you'll discover some great music. If you're already a fan then pick this up to have all their DLR albums together in one neat box. At less than £15 it's a bargain.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2017
All the best van Halen in one package and at a great price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2017
The first 6 albums on cd.Each cd is housed in a sleeve that is a smaller version of the album cover.At around £14,a great deal for great music from a great rock band!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2017
Great price for 6 CDs - all the very best of the great Van Halen. Got to be a purchase for any rock fan - past or present.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2017
Classic rock by an awesome band great value for money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2013
Seriously if you love, like have a passing interest in VH this is a no brainier. These are the albums that not only defined the band but they defined a new era in guitar heroes. Forget criticisms of sleeves etc at this price it makes pirates look silly and legal downloading out of touch. I already had 2 of the albums and it's still a bargain to get the rest.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2014
The definitive five albums from America's premiere party 'whole greater than the sum of their parts' rock band in one box set. Ferocious on Van Halen & Van Halen 2, Women & Children First & Fair Warning. Bit hit & miss with Diver Down (but great fun nontheless) and back to form, albeit a more shiny polished form, with 1984. Forget anything post 1983, this is a five part time capsule of everything great about late 70's / early 80's American hard rock. And then some. Indispensible.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 January 2014
I was playing my vinyl version of the Van Halen debut album for the first time in quite a whiles and found that it was not in the best of shape, with lots of crackles, pops and whistles and, when at volume, was quite unacceptable. So, a little later that day, I was looking at the cost of a CD replacement and came across this box set covering six albums, no less, for under twenty quid...well, yes, I do already have all six (in vinyl format) but just decided, what the hell and put my order in.
So, now that I've revisited the lot, it's certainly put a grin on this old man's face. To listen to the albums in pristine condition (as they were when I first heard them all those years ago) has been great and all I can say is that if you like late 70's / early 80's rock or, especially, you like the Van Halen boys then this really is a package that's VFM, particularly if like me, you've played your vinyl versions to the point of (almost) destruction.
Great music, cheap price - what's not to like?
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2013
Bought this after reading the details about it on the Van Halen News Desk. Info on the official add states that all original art work is included that was with all the original vinyl releases unlike the last set of remastered Cd's.
Although the quality of the sleves are very good, THAT IS ALL YOU GET. YOU DO NOT GET ANY EXTRA ART WORK. The last set of remasters contained everything from outersleve artwork to innersleve artwork, if you have the original remasters I would just stick with them as this is a right con apart from the great music which sounds exctly the same as the last set of remasters. Good for minimising space though on your CD shelf, but that's about it. All you are paying for is a box with the already avilable remastered CD's but without the extra artwork. Always thought this band was just after money, couldn't care less about the fans, BUT STILL GREAT MUSIC. Sorry all of that sounds negative but I was really dissapointed once I opened the pack to find even less than the original remasters that I already own, feel a bit of a mug ha. Ideal though as an intro to the band, but not for the die hards.
44 Comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)