Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
38
Psmith in the City
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.79


TOP 500 REVIEWERon 23 July 2017
Always a pleasure, never a chore - Wodehouse never lets his audience down. Quick witted, convoluted early comedy of errors - its funny, clever and his use of language sublime. Not the usual Jeeves & Wooster stories which are, of course, very well known - this is Psmith with the silent P! - say no more! These early editions are a steal on kindle and worth every single penny. Recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 October 2015
I came to Psmith (the P is silent - no jokes here please) late in my Wodehouse reading, having concentrated on Jeeves & Wooster and Blandings.
But the Psmith stories are a very good read and full of fascinating Wodehouse twists of language. Best to start with 'Psmith in the City' and work through 'Psmith Journalist' to 'Leave it to Psmith', where we find him at Blandings. After that he disappears. His use of language seems to be an early indication of how Jeeves` turn of phrase would develop.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 March 2015
Wodehouse's characters are always delightful, although, like relatives, you might not want some of them in your house for more than a day. It was a different world and much has changed, but Wodehouse has a wit and style - please don't use the word class - that has outlasted most authors of his extremely literate era. I can't add much to the thousands who have written about his work, I'll just say read him if you haven't, and read him again if you have.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 October 2015
Love love love this book. Psmith is my favourite Wodehouse character and I have read all of the Psmith stories over and over. Got some funny looks when reading this in public places because I kept bursting out laughing and still grin like a lunatic days after finishing the book when I think about it. If you like the Wodehouse style but have never tried Psmith then you,re in for a treat.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 October 2017
Characters, places and daily lifestyle from a charming bygone era. The eloquent use of the English language and witty refrains just carried the plot smoothly along. Also deep meaning wrapped around an amusing tale.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 January 2015
This classic Wodehouse. Light, funny, beautifully written. Perfection. And at last some of these works are coming out of copyright and are being made available at a sensible price which will hopefully encourage more people to read these wonderful books.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 May 2017
A great tale and, having read all of the books previous to this one, it appears that this is where Wodehouse started to produce the good works he is known for.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 August 2017
Some of the best things in life are simple, like a single perfect rose! This is one of them. If I have misquoted her, then my humble apologies to Dorothy Parker.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 September 2017
I'm a woodhouse fan so was not disappointed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 March 2017
Returning to this book after more than 25yrs after finding out that the bank I am working at is where Wodehouse worked more than a century earlier, and the basis for the New Asiatic Bank in this book. Lots of fun!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)