Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
2,015
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£5.98


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 June 2017
There are a half dozen or so themes in fiction. Hosseini’s is familiar enough (redemption) but with a near-contemporary twist (Afghanistan). Despite so much tragedy, the outcome is relatively hopeful: ‘There is a way [for Amir, the Afghan boy who grows up] to be good again’. It is impossible to fault so engaging an addition to the many splendid novels on the same theme.

Stewart Robertson
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2017
One of my all-time favourite books - it's difficult to read some parts of the book, what the small boy endures, but for anyone from that part of the world it rings true. The language, the settings, the interactions all seem very authentic and it draws you in. The premise of the book is a large part of why it's compelling, and it draws the reader in from start to finish.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2017
From the first page I was in the story. Ignore the few and far between negative reviews...bet they wish they had an iota of this wonderful author's talent. Couldn't put it down! Brilliant thank you!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2017
Such an emotive and touching book. Really makes you think, product came on time and in excellent condition, which is great for me as I like to collect and keep my books.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2017
A story of two boys that you have to read about. Once they have captured you, you can't out this book down.
A really interesting read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2017
Very good read so well written you actually feel you are with the boys living the joy sadneds and pain they experience growing up in Kabul
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2015
I mistakenly bought this for my 11 year old as he has read the Hobbit etc and thought the level would suit. Unfortunately I think it was too involved for him and he stopped at chapter 7. However, for adults with a heart and conscience, brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2017
Really good read interesting politics in Afgahnistan not sure how accurate .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2017
As advertised and delivered in a timely manner.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2017
Amazing story. I bought this to read before I watched the west end version in London. Absolutely fantastic novel, which is both heartfelt and hard hitting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse