Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Morrissey Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 13 January 2014
First off, I was surprised at how tiny this unit is. But it's lack of physical presence apart, this machine does so much and does it so well.
All I wanted was a Blu-ray player to show my home made films, but I have a device that is WiFi and is connected to my home network.
Straight from the box, it finds and connects to the network and allows access to the internet for downloading films, music and even youtube. Another surprise is it's ability to connect and share stuff like photos stored on other computers on the network. USB input is also available.
A really good piece of kit for the money. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2017
This was a XMas gift for my nephew who was very pleased with it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2017
Great blue-ray. Looks very sleek.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2015
Plays region one as well
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2013
Picture quality is good. Does what it is supposed to do with DVD/Blu-rays. But under the surface there is a whole bundle of extras, such as youtube,paid-for film services,facebook, some simple games,etc. AND, you can install many more from the online shop, many are free. You could ALMOST do away with a PC, except for the lack of keyboard. Must plug that it and try it, it has a front USB port too. It gets my vote.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2014
remarkably good picture, easy to use. Recommended as a disc player. Didn't really need the wifi, should have gone for the 3d one!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2014
This was my first Blu-ray player so I wasn't quite sure what to expect since I've never actually seen or used one. But this Blu-ray player is superb, it is extremely easy to set-up (has a quick start guide on first boot) and I was up and running in no time. The apps are quite limited compared to Samsung but it has everything you really would need such as Netflix, YouTube, Lovefilm etc.

Picture quality is a massive difference compared to a DVD player and I also found out that it was possible this could upscale my already owned DVDs and make them almost HD! I am very pleased with this Blu-Ray player and have not had any issues as of yet.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2013
This is brilliant, very neat, simple to operate and a real pleasure to have. I believe it is the first 3d blue ray made by Sony so you know you are getting good quality. Nice looking and worth every penny. Definitely recommend. Movies are superb quality. Delighted.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 April 2013
Style: With Wi-Fi|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I am thoroughly impressed with this product. This acts as an upgrade for me from my previous Blu Ray player which was also made by Sony. To start with the sony blu ray players are reliable and efficient machines that offer an intuitive GUI display to guide you through your various options.

Testing playback on this device I have watched Moonrise Kingdom which accurately captures the grain of the film on blu ray and then the sumptuously beautiful cinematography of Prometheus, where a full range of colour blacks and pin-point detail can be found. I have watched DVD's which upscale very well depending on the title. This machine offers full 1080p playback at 24fps - creating glorious images.

This machine is very easy to make multi-region for DVD playback (not Blu Ray) and I quickly did this within minutes of owning it. In order to do this yourself you will need a programmable remote or pre-programmed remote with a hack built into it (these can be found for approx £10 online).

The machine allows you to access BBC iplayer, 5 ondemand, sky news, Crackle and more for free as well as Sony's Entertainment network - where you can find games and other apps - that give you access to Facebook & Twitter too.

The two main subscription services you can join and stream content via are LoveFilm & Netflix - both of which are very good value for money.

There are two ways to connect the machine to the online world - this can be done via built wifi (no extra gizmos needed here) or via ethernet cable. I use both options. For everything I mainly stick with the WiFi, however I also use the Ethernet as you can access the customisable section for this (not the WiFi) where you can alter the DNS settings manually thus making certain services available from elsewhere in the world (i.e. the States for example). If you do this however be sure to switch back to your UK settings before you turn off the machine as the Blu Ray player updates each time you turn it on and you always want your updates to be UK based. My advice is to not to play with these settings if you are a novice user as you could mess up your machine.

Another clever option is that you can pair your smart phone with the player thus enabling you to quickly search and control You Tube for example from your mobile device. This is really handy as its far more easy to find content on your phone than on the GUI interface for You Tube on the machine.

There is also a USB socket on the front where you can attach any portable hard drive or even USB ket to save content to (such as elements from Blu Ray 2.0 sites) or if you prefer playback images, video or music from this too.

On the negative side there is access to a search engine for general internet use - however you cannot watch content on any website at present as it is not encoded to engage with Flash or Html5 video content - which feels a shame.

On the whole I fully recommend this machine and think it is a wonder. You do not need a more expensive machine and this is a testament to just how far price and quality have come in line since Blu Ray was first launched.

For those that would like more technical details here is a full breakdown --

Playback Capability:

Blu-ray Disc
DVD with 1080p upscaling
BD-Live (Profile 2.0)
AVC-HD (Blu-ray, DVD, CD, USB, DLNA)
CD
USB playback (FAT32 / NTFS)
External HDD (Read)
Photo - JPEG / GIF / PNG
Video - XviD / WMV9 / MPEG-1 / MPEG-2 / MPEG-4 / AVCHD
Music - MP3 / AAC / WMA9 Standard / LPCM

Video Features:

Super Scaler (Precision CinemaHD upscale)
Triluminous Colour
Deep Colour
24p True Cinema
NTSC/PAL(60Hz/50Hz)
DVD 24p output

Audio Features:

HDMI® - DTS HD Master Audio / Dolby TrueHD / LPCM 2ch / LPCM 6ch out / LPCM 8ch out
HDMI® - DSD to LPCM conversion
Coaxial, Optical - DTS / Dolby Digital / LPCM 2ch / DTS Neo:6
Analog - AV Sync.

Functions:

Screen Saver / Easy Set Up / PhotoTV HD
Child Lock
Parental Control
USB keyboard / Auto Standby
Wi-Fi® Built in (2.4GHz)
Photo slide show with music (CD, USB)
Sony Entertainment Network (SEN)
Live Streaming / Subtitle
BRAVIA Sync
Firmware Update (Network / Disc)

Terminals:

HDMI® Output
1 (Rear)
Coaxial Audio Output
1 (Rear)
Ethernet
1 (Rear)
Front USB

Other:

Power Consumption
9.9W
Standard Remote
YES
1818 Comments| 233 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2014
This is a great little Blu-Ray player for the price. It plays internet TV and I haven't found a filetype yet that it can't play via USB.

There are quite a lot of reviews here on whether WiFi is built in or not. To clarify, the BDPS4100 is WiFi Ready but you must buy an additional USB device for it to work (or plug in an ethernet cable to connect to your router). To buy the Sony Blu-Ray play with WiFi built in you much choose the WiFi option at the top of the screen when you buy the device - this will allow you to buy the next model up which costs an additional £20. Personally I already had a TP-Link Wireless Nano Router for my Sky box which plugs into the ethernet socket and bridges your wifi connection, so I just switch this over to the other box when I need it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 63 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)