Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 21 July 2015
Great little portable speaker definitely worth it at £10. Gets decently loud and decent amount of bass and clarity. Only criticism is the battery doesn't last the rated time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2013
Colour: Black|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This speaker takes a while to initially pair up with your device, but once it is set up it is easy to use every time, and perfect for day to day use.

The reason for the difficulty in pairing, I found, was that the buttons on the front are not not clearly defined- just a picture on the speaker that activates by touch. It is therefore tricky to set it up on first use, until you get used to it. Because the buttons are close together and it is not always to see them, since they are low down on the device, this can be a cause of difficulty and is something you have to become familiar with. It appears on my phone (Galaxy S3) as 'Aves Aqua', so was really easy to find on Bluetooth. Once it has been set up once it will also auto connect when both devices are turned on.

A good feature on it is the fact that if a phone call comes through, the music stops and the call will play through the speaker. An inbuilt microphone means you can also take calls on speakerphone through it.

The signal carries through walls easily, so it can be used near the shower, for example, whilst leaving your phone in another room, properly out of the way of the water and steam. It has a good range for a Bluetooth speaker- I have had no problems at all in this area.

The controls are also good, volume can be increased easily, and well, with good sound quality. It is also easy to stop the music if you want to.

If you don't have Bluetooth activated or available, you can connect the speaker via a cable. A charging cable is supplied with the device and this is easy to use. Once charged it has a fairly good battery life if you want to take it out on travels with you in the car or on day trips. It has an on and off switch on the back of the device too, to make sure no power is being wasted when you don't want to use it.

Overall, it has a nice range of features and does the job well. It takes a bit of patience at first, but once the set up process is finished it is easy from there on out, so worth the slight hassle if you want a nice small speaker that you can use on the go or around the house.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 7 March 2013
Colour: Black|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
A good value Bluetooth portable speaker, it has a good stereo sound, a bit light on the bass but that us as expected for the size and price, but the up side is that there is very little distortion. You have to put it up to max volume before it gets uncomfortable and tinny. The Bluetooth connection is fairly smooth and I took the iPad to the other end of the flat, and it was still connecting and music streaming nicely without gaps. So unlike most Bluetooth speakers, the range on this is very good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 March 2013
Colour: Black|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Palm-sized bluetooth speaker which also has an audio input port. On the front are touch-sensitive controls for turning on, adjusting volume and engaging the speakerphone mode (which I haven't tested). This connects nicely with both my Nexus 7 and Nexus 4 - although with the former the audio is a little distorted. Good for using as a digital radio though. The battery lasts several hours and quickly recharges using the supplied charger or via direct connection to USB through the mini-usb jack.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 23 March 2013
Colour: Black|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
First of all, the basic build quality looks good and the unit comes with a soft carry pouch, mains charging unit and a USB cable that also can charge the unit. Battery life is okay, I managed to get about 6 hours with modest output.

Designed as a Bluetooth paired external speaker, the unit has adequate sound quality for the size and price point. Bluetooth pairing was easy with an iPad 3, iPhone 4S and iPhone 5 running IoS6.

Controls can be a tad frustrating with either over or under sensitive touch control and I think a second generation model would benefit from a rethink and a more intuitive interface.

Overall,an adequate package but not outstanding and I would suggest careful review of all available products as any choice is a compromise in one way or another.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 5 March 2013
Colour: Black|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
There are a few things about this speaker that I'm not so keen on:

1) The sound is loud, but cymbals sound 'splashy', and bass sounds strained.

2) I wasn't able to connect via bluetooth while the speaker charged

3) The touch-sensitive controls: I spent a lot of time wondering if I'd managed to turn it on or not, and I still haven't worked out how to take a phone call and use the integrated microphone.

I'm giving it 3 stars because, when all is said and done, it doesn't need any leads. That on its own has to be worth liking. Although this claims to be a British design, it looks and feels very much like yet another generic Chinese product: made on the cheap, sold with a huge profit margin.

Edit 14/03/13: I have various items with bluetooth functionality, and every one of them feels cheap. They either have to pay a huge licencing fee or they're just taking advantage of a relatively new piece of technology (which can't be expensive to produce) and whacking up the retail price while the demand for the latest thing is at a high. At the time of writing, these products are too expensive for the quality levels they are made at.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2013
Colour: Black|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I wasn't that impressed I regret.
Opened the pack and then charged the speaker up. Expected 30 minutes to an hour but it too over two. Glad I wasn't in a rush.
Set up. Not so easy! First with my iPod. The speaker you turn the speakers on at the rear. Then you have yo do the same with the symbol on the front? Why I hear you ask - no idea. I tried this, kept my finger on the start symbol for several minutes got a blue flicker and assumed I was connected. Nope you have to wait for a regular blue flash. Several attempts and several minutes later I got it. Now lets connect. Switched on the bluetooth on the iPod and then, guess what the speaker had turned off. Lets start gain. Second try I managed it!!. Put on Crosby Still Nash & Young and its sounds good. Well it does until it cuts out occasionally. I try to turn up the speaker from the iPod and guess what. it turns off. Third time ~I get it going, grab the speaker to move to teh other room and hold it too close to the on/off symbol. It turns off. Getting frustrated now and just a little angry. I now know that this little speaker is sensitive in more ways than one and I have to treat it gently it to get it to work.

Lets try with the Kindle Fire. Bluetooth on, switch on, press on/off symbol, connect blue tooth and I am away. Sounds better ten the speakers again and I put on the Bang Bang Club (recommended) on Lovefilm. Nice should. Increase voulume through the Kindle - you guessed it, the speakers cut off. Start over and adjust sound from speaker only.

Sounds like it should be a one star but when you get it going its a nice small soundful unit.

Postscript. Chucked it in the bin after 3 weeks. The sound is substandard and after a full charge I could not get it to connect to my iPad. When you put this against even moderate hi-fi speakers this plastic container is what it is a poorly made plastic container with a speaker in it. I have used better portable speakers then this at about half the price. do yourself a favour - leave this one on the shelf and don't buy it. not sure if mine is just from a poor batch or that the other reviewers have wax in their ears. Sorry after just three weeks this goes from an average rating to awful.
44 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 50 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 25 February 2013
Colour: Black|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Like most small phone and laptop speakers, I was expecting this to sound quite tinny - but have been very pleasantly surprised.

Robustly-built and smoothly-finished, it sits flat on a desk or shelf and has 4 light rubber pads which help prevent vibration. The speaker unit is under 9cm diameter and 6cm tall at its highest point so is very compact for travel use - and a microfibre pouch is included which also holds the mains charger cable.

Operating is very easy, simply switch it on, press the pairing touchpad on the front (admittedly quite easily missed) and my Nokia phone found it in seconds and paired it quickly.

The sound quality is surprisingly good and the 2 x 3W speaker volume took me by surprise. Without reading the spec, I'd have anticipated about 1W at most, not 6W - so another very pleasant surprise. The tone is good and it doesn't have the awful rattly tinny-treble associated with many small speakers but there is no tone control within the unit and tone must be adjusted using the graphic equaliser on your sound source instead.

Another benefit is when using it with a mobile phone, it will also act as a speakerphone without the annoying feedback heard using a standard phone speaker - or at least I'm told by callers that there is no feedback. During a call, the sound is 'paused' and then resumes when the call ends.

I ordered this speaker to use while travelling - either backpacking, cycle-touring or camping in my campervan. For a product designed to be portable I am surprised that, even though it has a +6-hour battery playing-life, it doesn't use user-accessible rechargeable batteries. While traveling, I will often be without access to a mains power source so for this reason I have hesitantly deducted a star from my personal rating. If the ability to charge without main access wasn't so important to me, then it would have received a full 5-star rating. I am hoping I will be able to recharge it via its mini-USB using my various solar chargers and Veho VCC-A008-PBP-XT Pebble Portable 5000mAH Battery Pack Charger
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 February 2013
Colour: Black|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Aves Bluetooth Aqua review

The device is both compact and lightweight. It is well built and does not look cheap.

The instruction leaflet is nicely produced in English with clear instructions and plenty of diagrams. There is the odd typo such as referring to a "Mirco Fiber Pouch".

The instructions state that the Bluetooth speaker must be fully charged before it is used. However, there is no mention of how long this is likely to take, just a bland "Charging times may vary". I plugged it in and returned 2 hours later to find that the LED had changed from Red to Green, which meant it was now ready for use.

I switched on the device and "pressed" the on/off and handset button simultaneously. The instructions state that you should "press and hold" but the controls are on a stiff plastic case and are in fact touch-sensitive. This is confusing but it is just like touching the screen on my iPhone.

I touched the on/off and handset buttons again and was very quickly able to pair the device and use it with my iPhone 5. No pairing code was required as the iPhone 5 has the latest Bluetooth 3.0 - older devices will need a pairing code.

The sound quality when linked to my iPhone 5 was quite good and a big step up from just using "speaker" on the iPhone. There are two holes in the top of the unit, which each seem to contain a 1.5" loudspeaker, driven by a 6W amplifier but the sound is monophonic as the speakers are close together. Aves do make a Portable Stereo speaker but it is far less attractively packaged, less portable and more expensive.

Instead of listening to a quiet, tinny sound from the single speaker in the iPhone, the Aves provided a far more enjoyable way on enjoying music on the move. It even allows you to remotely pause and resume playback of the tracks, whilst your iPhone is up to 10 m away!

The ability to charge from a standard mini USB lead or supplied charger offers ideal flexibility when travelling.

The only misnomer is the name: the Aves aqua is certainly not waterproof and the Warnings in the instruction manual are very specific that "the product should not be exposed to "dripping" or "splashing" and that objects fill (sic) with liquids, such as vases, should not be placed on or near the product."

It has a stated battery life of more than 6 hours. What about auto-power off? Ideally the device would switch to a low power standby once it has become disconnected from the bluetooth sound source for a period of time. This is fairly standard for bluetooth headphones. The device does have a physical on off switch at the back of the device. However, there is no mention in the instructions about auto-power off. It just says that the "bluetooth speaker will turn itself "off" automatically when the battery is drained. By which time the device is no longer usable unless a power supply can be found. However, it should preserve its bluetooth settings, which is of some value.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 February 2013
Colour: Black|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I love this speaker. It is neat and compact and quite unobtrusive when sitting on my desk. It arrived very well protected in its box which also contained an instruction manual, a mains USB adaptor and cable and a useful pouch for carrying. The speaker itself is quite high gloss. The back has an on off switch - a mini usB port and an audio inlet for connecting non blue tooth devices. The front shows 4 touch symbols - a clock , a telephone and 2 speakers These symbols control the playing and volume of music and allows answering calls while music is playing.
The instruction manual gives clear easy to read instructions ad includes a trouble shooting chapter.
The speaker charged quickly and then paired with both an iphone and a blackberry without any problems. Sound was very good quality. This is a very good speaker and I think it is excellent value for money
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)