Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
160
4.2 out of 5 stars
Hitchcock [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 2 May 2014
Such a great and entertaining movie. Anthony Hopkins take the part off very well as Hitchcock, his acting is great. This film is about when Hitchcock made Psycho, I shall not go into too much detail about the film, so as not to spoil it, but it's well worth a watch. 5 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2013
Thought this film was superb really enjoyed it even though i thought it was,nt my sort of film but boy was i wrong ,,A love story between influential filmmaker Alfred Hitchcock and wife Alma Reville during the filming of Psycho and they play it blinding ,quality film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2015
Very well done. Although Hitchcock mzde many Suspense thrillers, this one concentrated on his BEST MOVIE, which of course is PSYCHO!! And the consummate actor , and one of my favourites, Anthony Hopkins, as usual DELIVERS!!! I love him!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2013
An interesting story, the history of Hitchcock's life and times was revealing and entertaining. The acting was first class. I had expected him to be a much more unlike able person and had never heard of his wife. Fascinating
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2014
I love Hitchcock and Hopkins, so this was a winner every time for me. It was great to see how he struggled to get his best film ever (Psycho) into production. It left me wanting more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2014
Grand evening's entertainment. Saw the television Hitchcock and thought this one might be a pale imitation. Totally different viewpoint, beautifully acted and thoroughly engaging
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 24 January 2013
It's clearly entertaining - although the normally wonderful Anthony Hopkins is not as good as Toby Jones in The Girl (he has neither the pace nor intonation of Hitchcock and his accent changes dramatically between scenes!). However more significantly, the film is very light on fact. The assertions it makes about the filming of Psycho, and particularly Alma (Hitch's wife portrayed by a far too glamourous Helen Mirren) and her fascination/potential affair with Evan Hunter are totally unsubstantiated. Evan Hunter was a close friend of the family and certainly not the character we see in the film. Similarly the patronising portrayal of Anthony Perkins and several of the other characters just doesn't ring true at all. Ironically - unpleasant though it is - the storyline of of The Girl was "substantiated' by information from both Tippi Hedren and Donald Spoto in his book about Hitchcock - whereas this film seems to be very thin speculation indeed. That said, it certainly is enjoyable enough - provides the occasional laugh - and is well produced with lots of period detail. However it never really delivers in a way one would hope when you are dealing with such fascinating subject matter.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2013
I brought it for my husband as a surprise because he is a great fan of hers and he likes him as well. so anything she is in he loves it. I did watch it myself it was okay.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 13 April 2013
Anthony Hopkins and Helen Mirren star as Alfred and Alma Hitchcock during the filming of the movie, "Psycho." We see his battle to bring the shocking story to the screen and we see the important role Alma played as Alfred's creative partner, writer, and editor.

On the good side, it is a nice recreation of 1960. On the bad side, there's everything else: Hopkins' makeup was so distracting and so confining that he was severely limited in showing emotion; he looked like a mannequin. Even his usually expressive eyes were squeezed and lifeless under the makeup, and he had none of Hitchcock's trademark sly, dry humour. Neither Alfred nor Alma were particularly likable and I found their story dull. The "Psycho" cast don't get a chance to shine; they're just paraded in and out with little to say or do and they didn't look like their famous counterparts.

Given the talented stars, I expected a really entertaining, eye-opening movie and I was surprised at how much I disliked the film. It was boring.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2015
Sir Anthony Hopkins and Dame Helen Mirren together in a film about Alfred Hitchcock . If you love all three what more could you ask for? If you don't watch it anyway.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)