Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 3 November 2017
excellent read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2013
If you're the sort of person who accepts advice from random strangers on the Internet; if you hadn't realized that checking Facebook every twenty minutes disrupts your work pattern; if you are shocked to learn that politicians and advertisers choose emotive words to influence your decisions; if you've never suspected that extremely confident people know less than people who are cautious in their claims; if you blindly accept the word of anyone who is labelled an "expert" - then this book is for you.
But if that list seems like a set of pretty self-evident errors, then this book is not going to transform your life or decision-making.
And Hertz doesn't seem to be very good at practising what she preaches - we're told time and again that "studies show" something or other about cognition or decision-making, but we're never offered a critical appraisal of the studies in question, explaining why we should believe what they say. And we're offered a silly "mindfulness exercise" (examining a raisin) which Hertz claims can help make us more observant - but with no evidence to support that surprising claim.
I give this three stars because there's a wealth of amusing anecdote, a reference list for people who actually want to do the reading and decide for themselves whether they believe what Hertz has to say, and a short chapter on maths which flags some important information about data interpretation. Otherwise, two stars.
22 Comments| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2014
Apparently we make in the region of 10000 decisions a day. I'd like to say that mine are always spot on, but I know that is far from accurate. This book provides simple, yet well grounded ideas to help us challenge our decision making processes, whether in the business environment or within our social lives. I loved this book and would recommend it to everyone, from those just starting out their careers and adult life, to CEO's of big corporations and anyone in between. Professor Hertz' research is relevant for everyone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2013
Some information was knew to me and written in an easy manner As I read on I was reminded of things I had already discovered but it's always good to revisit and take on board and review Especially in respect to this ever changing world So I am glad I purchased this book and it will be useful to dip into every now and then
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2014
A thought provoking review of the difficulties of making decisions in an ever more complex world as well as tools and techniques to improve our thinking and decision making. Well worth reading.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2013
After reading reviews in the press I was intrigued by this book.
How very disappointing. Others have done this theme before and much better.
No flow at all, poorly written. although it is referenced it seems to be a series of anecdotes.
Save your money.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2014
enjoyed reading this but did skim read some parts as a bit repetitive in places. some interesting ideas and thoughts. recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2014
A book that certainly makes you think which is a good thing in today's digital world.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
I ourchased this book for a very good friend for his birthday and he has given it 5stars ++ one of the best informative books that he has ever read. He is a realist and this book is just the one for him!!

Thank you

Janet
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2015
There is the makings of a decent book in this somewhere, but it would be a very short book indeed. And that is that in a world of information/ data overload there is a fairly obvious need to discipline one's data intake to lead a rewarding and authentic life. Data and information is a servant not a master. Some people know that already. They know to make sense of the world as they experience it along with collective information as it comes along to support/ challenge their viewpoints.

Others need authorities or books to tell them what information they do or do not need and how they are to treat it. There is another way that clever people know about and however many steps to get there..... It never works and the tones of such tomes are always the same; the world is complicated and clever people know that and here are the footnotes that prove that given to research... there is another way.... which never delivers.

Wisdom is hard to come by, because.. it is hard to come by. It is not found in books such as this. Neither should it be - it comes from costly experience rather than £10 on Amazon. And Noreena is not interested in that £10 anyway - the profit motive does not come into the equation there at all any more than it does for any other source of information/ research article that has ever been published. But don't tell her that.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)