Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 14 April 2017
I've seen the movies now I'm reading the books for a better understanding of these fabulous stories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2015
If like me your only contact with Sharpe is the TV series, then these three book are a must have.

Not only are they well written, they offer a brilliant insight into the life of the common soldier in the British Army in the 18th and 19th century. A time when the common soldier had to survive in brutal and uncaring conditions, and that was before they came close to a battle situation. Being ruled by officers who bought their commissions, usually with little, if any, military training and who generally viewed the soldiers in their charge as nothing more the scum to be disgusted with. Then the NCO's that used the situation to exploit everything for their own gain and usually at the expense of the common soldier.

While these books were written after the main books, which went to make up the TV series, they offer a ream of background information that fleshes out the characters in the TV films. As another reviewer mentioned, his introduction to Sgt. Obadiah Hakeswill immediately brings Pete Postlethwaite to my minds eye.

Excellent books which if you enjoy well researched historical fiction will tick all the boxes.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
Really enjoyed the series of books about the battles in India as I've been to Rajasthan and seen something of the fortresses and countryside although not where the battles were fought.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2017
Excellent, well researched and well written books. Recommend to anyone. Had the set as paperbacks once. At least my kindle won't be going threadbare.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2017
Cornwell is the Master, nuff said
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2017
Cornwall is a master wordsmith.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2015
ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2016
Books arrived late after paying for next day delivery. The box was extremely shabby although the books were Ok but I feel paying nearly £30 for this set wad excessive. Disappointed as this was a Birthday gift!!
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
I never thought I'd say this but this is better than a book because:

1) Even if you drop your Kindle or just put it down for a second you can't lose your place.
2) Similarly you don't have to find a way to mark your place as when you turn your Kindle off next time you turn it on it remembers where you are,
3)The 'print' is extremely clear and so easy to read.
4) The 'book' doesn't deteriorate over time no matter how many times you read it. Even if you always read whilst eating jam sandwiches!

I'd recommend this to anyone.

I know that so far this review is about the Kindle but Bernard Cornwell, particularly the Sharpe books, are so well written that they are always a pleasure t read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2016
A terrific read, charting Sharpe's rise from private, through sergeant, to ensign. It also acts as a great introduction to the original Sharpe books, explaining many aspects of Sharpe's later character and relationships.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse