Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
52
4.4 out of 5 stars
The Diamond Collection
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.79


on 6 June 2017
Fabulous
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2017
Good listening - I use it for my long drives to work
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2015
Brilliant. Great star
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2013
First it should be noted that the reviews from Amazon.com are for a totally different album. This 2 CD has 37 studio tracks recorded between 1960 (The Party's Over) to 2007 (Get The Party Started). Like dozens of other CDs currently available It contains all of DSB's biggest hits from the 60's and 70's. This set differs slightly as it includes History Repeating, the aforementioned Get The Party Started, and the wonderful away team remix of Where Do I Begin (Love Story) as well as the original version. For the price it offers a great selection of songs, it's just a pity that to celebrate Bassey's 60th year in the music business (2013), EMI could not have produced something special containing unreleased tracks that we know are in the vaults!
11 Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2013
If you don't know Shirley Bassey, this is a great 2 cd set that will enlighten you to the diversity and talent of Dame Shirley Bassey. This collection has most of her classics including 2 of the three James Bond hits Goldfinger and Diamonds Are Forever. Moonraker was eliminated. She does a theatrical version of Pink's Get The Party Started which was released a few years back on a collection of today's hits with a Dame twist. There are two versions of Where Do I Begin (Love Story theme), the original from 1971 and an updated earthy sounding version from 1990 (according to the liner notes) The liner notes were minimal and bare. I wish they elaborated like most collections like this does. The songs were arranged well having continuity and flow.

As noted on the recent Oscars 2013, Dame Shirley bassey can still belt out a tune with ease. I have to say...better than Barbara Streisands weak, but important performance.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2013
For those who do not have anything from Dame Shirley Bassey in their CD collection, this is a great start. A wonderful selection taken from her long recording career. Just a shame that her 75th birthday went by without EMI releasing something more memorable.... In 2012 it was revealed that EMI and Capitol Records are sitting on many unreleased recordings from DSB.
A planned CD set (including a live concert from the early 1970's) was approved by The Dame for release. Unfortunately it seems, due to infighting between her old record companies, we are left waiting for these tracks from the vaults. After the amazing performance at the Oscars on Sunday last I hope that we will finally get a tribute that the great Dame deserves!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2013
Great compilation although nothing new but well presented and excellent reproduction. The dame never disappoints. Long may she reign. Here's to another 60 years.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2013
An absolute classic, fantastic. All her very popular songs, this woman has a fantastic voice and this album is a must for Bassey followers
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2013
I have been a fan of Shirley Bassey for years and it brings back
so many memories, I have seen her on stage several times
and she never fails to give of herself completley she is a one off
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2013
This is my first venture for a Shirley Bassey compilation. Her voice is amazing and makes for good background music whilst enjoying a nice meal and a bottle of wine with friends. This is a permanent addition to the iPod along with Ella and Etta.

It turns out that quite a few of our friends are closet Shirley Bassey fans

I bought it as an autorip, so it was on my Ipod within minutes and the CD arrived a few days later
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)