Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 August 2014
I have based my rating on the hardback edition which I previously owned but gave away. The illustrations in that are superb and helpful as is the clear, well written explanation of the history of the universe and Big Bang. This is great for adults and older children because it does not seek to baffle or confuse, but clarify, explain and demonstrate in straightforward but interesting terms. Well worth the price for the hardback. BUT do not buy the kindle edition if you want the illustrations as these are missing. I was furious when my kindle version was delivered and discovered it contains just text. I would definitely not have bought if this had been clearly stated. So be warned.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2014
I thought this a very good read . It is written in a straightforward way and treats complicated subjects like Quantum Theory in a way to make them more understandable to the layman.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2013
It was readable but quite a lot of the subject matter was repeated albeit in explaining another subject area.
Would not have bought having read it now.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2013
The book clearly explains the current thinking on the start of the universe up to a projected end. Very easy to read and recommended for all ages.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2013
Brilliant read, not hard going but easy to follow and extremely informative. Explains a lot of issues in easy to understand chunks of facts
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2011
Highly recommended read for a beginner , like me, to astronomy. A good insight into the universe on a level which is easy to understand.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2013
A readable but non- trivial introduction to astronomy and astrophysics. However, there is a slight tendency towards a "hand-waving" and "broad brush" approach and over-simplification in parts, where the absence of even basic mathematics inhibits deeper and more rigorous understanding of the topic. Provide the reader is aware of this, this is a good overview.
Tomos
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2014
Bought for my son who is studying cosmology, I read it too and it's a fascinating guide to the universe. The science isn't too difficult, the authors are ready to admit when we just don't know and discuss alternative viewpoints.

One question. Does the paper version include diagrams that aren't in the Kindle edition?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2014
A more normal size book, updated and reduced in size from the original coffee table tome, Bang! Explains in mostly layman's terms the story of this universe, from beginning to end. Over the years, I've bought the first, second, and fourth editions. The third edition sneaked past me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2014
This book is good as a lay read on the history of the universe from the big bang through to the ultimate end. The authors are careful to explain that the theories presented are the best currently known. Recommended reading for anyone with an interest in this subject.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)