Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
595
4.1 out of 5 stars
Style: France Travel Kit + Breathalysers|Change
Price:£24.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 April 2013
Cheaply made but it is what it is. At least I won't get fined when driving in France now.
Make sure you keep the high-visibility jacket inside the car though! It's illegal if it's in the boot. The rest can be in the boot.
11 Comment| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2013
Let's be honest here: most people buy one of these kits to comply with the regulations rather than because they think they need one. I did too.

This kit is more comprehensive than AA's France-specific kit as it has a bulb kit, a first-aid kit and the AA European Drivers Handbook. While most of the other items have limited use in the UK, the bulbs and the first-aid kit are both something you should keep in your car anyway and so they seem like a worthwhile addition. As far as I know, it is not a legal requirement in the UK to carry a warning triangle but many cars have them anyway.

What's missing, though, is the NF approved breathalysers. However, these can be purchased separately for a few pounds.

The kit comes in a handy and compact but not terribly high quality pouch. Mine had a slightly broken zipper which I was able to fix.

The beam converters have a high-quality adhesive and are easy to apply on a wide variety of headlights. The GB plate is magnetic which is particularly handy for rental cars; if your numberplate has a GB logo, you won't need it.

So far everything has held up fine. I have no reason to believe they would break in use but if they did, I'd be quite happy to buy another kit. These are emergency items and, to be perfectly frank, I'm not too worried about their durability.

Even if you're only driving in France, I recommend skipping the AA France kit and buying this and a disposable, approved breathalyser or two. The extra accessories make this a useful kit to keep in your car, even when driving in the UK.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2016
why 3 stars?
Pros : Comes with everything it states
Handy bag to carry everything in, with an AA logo on it. The Triangle also comes in its own hard case.

Cons: The breathalysers have an expiry date of May 2016. It arrived 9 March 2016, so not much time before it expires. Fortunately I will be travelling before this date. Don't know much about the breathalysers and the expiry date is the date from which they will not work or may not work or if it even matters as long as I have them, but to have it expire within two months of purchase is not what you would expect when the information about the product states that expiry is 12 - 18months from purchase.

The above is the reason for the removal of two stars as it does not meet the description accurately.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2015
It was all OK except the breathalyser kit was already out of date and therefore of no use. Mr French Policeman would not be very happy at all if he was checking it. I have returned the pack for credit. It is very annoying and I don't know how you can make sure you can get an in date item. Amazon should have better quality standards and not send out of date products out to customers. Waste of my time and their costs.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2016
Nicely packaged and presentable. First Aid contents limited and fiddlly to access. Other items cheap to buy separately. The one thing of value is the book giving information on continental driving and requirements. I also bought the breathalysers separately which I believe are not required now. In all, a presentable package which is a bit overpriced for what it is, but hey ho, it's a one-off!
24th April 2016. Further to my earlier review and the holiday is over. At the last minute I found that the magnetic GB sticker would not adhere to the back of the car. Volvo V70, perhaps the paint was too thick, but it stuck to my filing cabinet ok. I had to tape it to the back window. On reflection, apart from the neat packaging I would prefer to make up this kit myself from independent sources.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2016
This product arrived fast, in good condition and appears outwardly as per the product photo. However, the kit contents do not match those of the product description. The description lists the contents as: Pair of Beam Converters, Universal Bulb Kit, First Aid Kit, Warning Triangle, Adults' High Visibility Vest (EN 471 Approved), Magnetic GB Plate, AA European Drivers Handbook. In reality, the GB sticker is a cheap self-adhesive version (not magnetic) and the first aid kit is a waste of space. Furthermore, if planning on travelling in certain European countries (e.g. France) then breathalyser kits are now also required, so this "Euro Travel Kit" is outdated and does not contain everything needed.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2015
I bought this mainly for the breathalyser kits it contained. When I checked them I found the expiry date on both kits was May 2015. I purchased the kit on 24 March 2015!! Not much use for a summer holiday in France!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2016
The kit is good for European travel, but just a couple of changes / extras would make it the complete kit - the GB sticker would have been better as a magnetic one (which you can buy on Amazon for a couple of pounds for an AA one so this kit could have had a magnetic rather than sticker), and also for travelling in France a disposable breathalyser would have been useful, again these sell for a couple of pounds for a valid French breathalyser, so this could have been included in the set.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2016
I was very disappointed that the breathalysers will be out of date on the 16th of May, that is just 2 months!, We were going to use it for traveling around Europe this summer, so we now still have to buy more breathalysers and we already had most of the rest.
I would have contacted the seller before posting this review, but there was no link or option to do so
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2013
Most things needed are in the package. You will need a second high viz jacket as France requires two. Although I did not see any other cars displaying these items when driving round France except for rural areas. Suspect some will get caught out. Jackets need to be observed by the French police in the car. Best place for the jackets is over the front seats. Otherwise no point carrying them. The breathalysers I kept in the glove compartment not much use in the boot under a pile of luggage! The headlight adjustment patches where confusing to fit and the manufacturers could sharpen their act here. Don't leave the placement until you get to the dockside boarding area! What do French drivers do when they come over to Britain. Surely there must be a better solution to patches on the Headlight! Manufacturers come up your game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 9 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)