Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
579
4.5 out of 5 stars
House of Cards - Season 1 (DVD + UV Copy) [2013]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.03+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 13 August 2013
Kevin Spacey and Robin Wright are wonderful as the amoral couple in this view of Washington politics. Sometimes Lady Macbeth comes to mind for Robin's character, Claire, but she brings a mystery and depth that leaves one wondering...wondering..
Kevin Spacey's character is beautifully drawn - commenting aside to us, the audience, as the series unfolds. first seeming to have all the reins in his hand, and then hints of self delusion - or is he simply trying to delude the audience?
Indeed all the cast are impressive, and I so enjoyed seeing Constance Zimmer (of Boston Legal) present a very different character in this. Very , very watchable, and more-ish! I hope there's a season 2.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2017
Excellent. Roll on series 5?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2014
Never saw the original British series but aware of it all the same. I imagine it wasn't quite the same as this version!
Spacey is fantastic, a truly great actor revelling in the role of a lifetime. Shakespearean, Greek tragedy, satire, a morality tale, all of those things and more besides.
I don't hate the people in this 'world', just pity those that ever fall out of Underwood's favour. This is politics but above all it's a human drama about people who want power, know how to use it and those that will never have it even if they are under the illusion that they have some inc the President of the United State! The poor man doesn't stand a chance, roll on Season 2!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2014
An absolutely amazing piece of American Political Drama! The key elements that make this programme so brilliant are the quality and imaginative script - a tense as any '24' episode, the acting of the key players - especially Kevin Spacey and his mysterious colleagues.
The traditional setting of Washington DC is so more comforting and appropriate rather than the glamour of Los Angeles , this enhances the appearance of someone trying to manipulate and best work a very staid and old system.
In short, please be patient and stick with the show through the usual confusing pilot episode - after that you will become mesmerised and inspired to achieve in one's life too!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2016
Thank god or if your`re a democrat Allah / Satan or if Catholic the Pope that this is fiction and does not reflect reality at all as you can see from today`s Washington politics the popular vote is being honored , not corrupt Delegate buying influence system . This is a great show about the total fictitious Washington politics of fairy tale corruption . The only thing not authentic in this fairy tale is the lack of coverage by the media pegging the corrupt politicians as being corrupt or them coming forward admitting that they are corrupt . So this in many ways is as realistic as Tom and Jerry !!Got this in a store for about the same price it sells here .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2014
I deliberately did not watch this series when screened on television because I thought that Season One of the original UK version was so good that a US version could not compete. A friend whose judgement I respect persuaded me to buy this and I am glad she did so. This is an exceptionally good series; writing, casting, acting and directing are all excellent. The variations necessary to adapt to the US political scene are well handled. I see that Season Two is underway. I will buy that, too, but would note that Seasons Two and Three of the UK version did not quite match the high standards set from the start. I hope that the US team avoid the same mistakes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2014
Needed something to plug the Breaking Bad shaped hole but wasnt expecting this to be quite as brilliant as it is. Superb production values and acting from everyone concerned. Kevin Spacey rightly gets all the plaudits for what must be his finest role to date, but for me its Robin Wright as his equally ruthless and loyal wife Clare, who quietly steals the show. Even if you're not normally a fan of political dramas, this is tv at its very best and deserves to be watched. A must buy!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2013
I didn't love this from the first moment of the first episode but by the time I was three eps in I was hooked. To begin with I found Spacey's talks direct to camera distracting and even irritating but as I watched more, I became so involved with the characters that I overcame the moments of coming out of the story. Great characterisation, his Lady Macbeth like wife with her own frustrations and agenda, the naive and morally ambivalent journalist and Spacey's manoeuvring through the corridors of power, his vulnerability and consuming ambition were both believable and fascinating. Can't wait for the next series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2014
But ... I hate all these explanation on second plan done by main character. Please, don't treat me as a stupid. And the range of different poses played by main characters is really limited. After third episode you can expect the way they will act in particular context.

Anyway, quite interesting, I am still waiting for second season.

One note for non native speakers. The complexity of language is rather high. Lots of very uncommon and complex words. Sometimes you have to guess the dialogs by the context of the whole scene. Especially when law and bill related topics are discussed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2014
complete waste of money seeing as this is available on netflix! great for just 6.99 p/m beats any dvd you buy and wait 3-5 days for on amazon. good show all the same spacey is terrific as usual, I had my reservations about this show when it first became available (Netflix seemed to be trying really hard to compete with AMC & HBO but this show is backed up by good actors and a strong production team) basically anybody who likes good tv would like this but just dont waste your money on a physical copy, you can even sign up for a free trial and cancel your account after 29 days if you wish..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)