Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
930
4.8 out of 5 stars
Style Name: 8 Port Gigabit Metal|Change
Price:£19.59+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 4 February 2014
First off, this is an awesome product, totally plug and play with absolutely no configuration required whatsoever. Simply plug in your cables and off you go - it automatically detects whichever port has the connection from the router and the which one is connected to your computer or other devices, you don't have to do anything.

I use mine to connect an AV receiver, Smart TV, Sky HD box and HTPC to my home network. I simply plug in the various devices to this switch and then run cable between it and my main router. Everything connected and configured automatically as soon as it was plugged in.

For a stress test I streamed HD content to the Sky box over the internet, over the Smart TV and over the HTPC. I also sent two Blu-Ray rips from my NAS to the HTPC, each one averaging roughly 25 mbps. All the streams worked perfectly and the switch only got very slightly warm to the touch.

A final good point - the power cable and the ethernet ports are on the SAME side of the device. Many switches have these on opposite sides with is a pain for cable management.

One ANNOYING point -

The older version of this switch would adjust the colour of the LED lights on the front to indicate the speed of the connection over that port. That is, if you had a 100mbps device it would turn orange whilst a 1000mbps device would turn the indicator green. This is quite handy for quickly checking the network is operating as fast as it should.

This particular switch seems to simply stay green, despite the speed of the connection. I've tested it with several confirmed 100mbps devices and a green light is all you get.
55 comments| 83 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2015
The GS308-100UKS pretty simple switch but I have pushed it hard before with pretty good performance results. I have pushed over 100MiB/sec through this switch for several hours continuously without issue. Plus it doesn't even get warm.

I love the durability of these small metal switches and I currently have this switch mounted upside down under my desk (there are two mounting holes on the bottom) connecting my office router to all the devices in my office.
review image
0Comment| 59 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 26 March 2014
NOTE: This is a review of the GS 208 with white plastic housing, Ethernet ports at the BACK, LEDs at the FRONT.
The GS 3XX series are also on this page and have grey metal housings, Ethernet ports at the FRONT along with the LEDs.

A very easy, great value gigabit upgrade for a home network, or to connect AV boxes etc. No configuration, no `correct' broadband port, no setup. I just plugged my networked devices into any of the 8 ports and they communicated instantly. That includes desktops, laptop, a hardware firewall and a broadband modem beyond it. Each PC immediately `found' each other AND the broadband through the firewall with no IP address changes required.

Obviously the switch is much faster than any broadband, so the network speed really shows for streaming and file transfers within your own network. Across a 30m long Cat 5e cable I got 350-400 Mbps and that was with an old PC at one end. With a new hard drive installed speeds rose to ~ 500Mbps.

The switch is very compact and neat, all the Ethernet sockets and power socket at the rear with green power and connection LEDs along the front. The LEDs flicker to show data transfer but they DON'T indicate the speed of each connection (100/1000 Mbps) by a colour change, so you may need to check your other hardware and cables to make sure you're getting gigabit speed where you should. I found a network surge protector that was dropping a connection to 100 Mbps level, but I had to look at the PC to find this. And check you don't still have any old Cat 5 (pre - 5e) cables in your network or you won't get high speeds.

The unit only gets slightly warm when busy, it says 3.64W is the maximum power and it meets the IEEE standard for energy efficiency. This cool running means there's no need for vent slots which is good if you want to put it in the sort of dusty places routers and switches often end up in - but it's small and neat enough to stay out on the desk or among your AV boxes.

UPDATE: Jan 2016: Almost two years later, still working perfectly.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2014
I am a network engineer and have always been impressed by the netgear products and these gigabit switches are a favourite of mine, I carry several about when working and they always come in handy when needing to put something temporary together or bypass some other units. The performance is excellent and I cant honestly find any fault with them.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2014
Exceptionally easy to set up. It is effectively plug and play in terms of connecting to your existing network.

It works at 1 gigabit speeds and can easily handle HD streaming (tested at 1080p) from a network storage device.

For the price you can't go wrong!
review image
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2015
Bought to replace an old 5 port FS605 v3 Netgear.
I mainly needed the extra ports that the 8 porter GS308 gives, but additional good points are the flashing lights being on the 'port side' so they face to the wall and don't illuminate the room! Also the metal case is weighty enough not to need 'blutacking' down to stop it being dragged by the lan cables. It's grey colour makes it more subtle as well :)
review image
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2013
I've had two 8 port Netgear 10/100/1000 switches running 24hrs a day for the last 8 years. Had to replace a PSU about two years ago, otherwise quietly faultless and fast.
This latest incarnation does what it says on the tin for about £20 less. Doesn't have as many lights, doesn't run as hot... It just works! :-)
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2013
Simple to plug and play bit of kit. Don't forget the cables though. Cat 5e or 6 is needed for Gigabit ethernet.

Don't use with lower spec cables or you are just asking for trouble.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2016
Here's how simple this is...

1 First of all Order it!
2 The next day, say thank you to the delivery man with a smile.
3 Try and open the packaging and then the box, this is the very difficult bit. (Take care)
4 Recycle the packaging.
5 Plug in the device, and your network cables (This is the really easy bit)
6 Think of what you can do next.
7 Make a cup of coffee, enjoy your moment, by giving yourself a pat on your back.
8 Then give everyone else a big cheesy grin, as you now a Network Master.

Hope that makes it very clear how easy this NetGear is to install.

I have worked with computers from when Plug and Play, was all but a dream.
Then came along USB, and that was better.

But in this case, the NetGear unmanaged Gigabyte switch has been the FASTEST install I have ever done in 30 years of computing.
Amazoningly, this is real KISS!

PS I have never been a big fan of Netgear routers etc, but in this case, especially just on price alone being purchased via an Amazon "Todays Deal" with 50% off! It's been the best bargain I have had this year (2016)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2016
Solid well constructed 5 port switch offering 1Gb speeds to all connected devices.

Do note, the speed of your connection will be auto negotiated with your device when it is connected, if your device supports 1Gb/s over ethernet it will connect as such else it will connect at the slower 100Mb/s, this will happen automatically, there is no settings on the switch to change this, or indeed anything; this is a completely unmanaged switch. Just plug in your cables and off you go.
If you have 5 devices with 1Gb capable Ethernet cards then yes all 5 will run at 1Gb, the "baseboard" of the switch is sufficient to process all 5 a maximum throughput/speed.

Netgear switches typically show an orange port light for 100Mb and green for 1Gb but this one does not. A green light simply indicates a device is connected and powered on, regardless of the connected speed negotiated with the switch.

As this will typically be used by home networkers please note that the maximum cable length between this switch and another device is 100 metres, and do ensure you are using Ethernet cable rated as at least 5e (cat 6 or higher is good too). If you need a longer run you can always connect two of these up to each other and then run a second cable from the second switch to your device.

For the home networker who might not be aware you may still be able to stumble across a similar device called a "hub" and wonder what the difference is and if you should buy one of them. A hub is a more basic, simpler network device that simply sends all the traffic it receives to all the devices it has connected. A switch is more intelligent and knows where each device is and so sends the traffic only to this device.
Think of it this way. You want to call a friend; a switch will dial that friend's number because it knows what number your friend is on. A hub is not smart like a switch, it will simply call all of the numbers it has, hoping that one of them will be the one you want. This generates a lot of unnecessary traffic on your network and is not something you want. Luckily hubs are relatively rare these days and with a small 5 port device the price difference is very little so its no brainier that you should choose a switch.

This switch will be ideal for many uses, it is completely silent as it requires no fans for dispersing heat, unlike larger units. It has low power consumption and never ventures past "slightly warm" to the touch so it will be fine to store in tight or enclosed spaces. I've been running a couple of these for a year now and have never had to reset them so they are good to be installed in hard to reach places. It also has mounting slots so can be attached to a wall or under/behind desks etc. The rubber feet also do a really good job to help it stay in place if placed on a surface.

The only con I can think of for this device is that I would have liked a button to turn the port activity lights off once I'd verified connection but hey at the price point you cant complain. I would thoroughly recommend this switch.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 73 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)