Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 May 2013
Interesting, encouraging and amusing. One of the best books I have read. Would recommend this to those that feel like giving up.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2014
I loved this book, I was not aware of all the work Harriet Tubman had done for her people. Excellent book to read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2016
The book is a true story of a remarkable woman who didn't allow suffering to defeat her or make her bitter. She used her pain to give her faith in God wings to soar above her situation. I recommend it to those who feel they are burnt out and there is no hope and they cannot lift themselves up above their situation. Faith in God will lift them up. Her hurt and her pain did not make her lose her perspective and her faith in God and her goal of rescuing her people. And she achieved it selflessly. The story is inspiring and well written, including some of her own words.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2013
This book is written in a way that makes you feel that you are there with Harriet Tubman, hiding and trying to stay alive while saving her people.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2013
An excellent read a marvellous woman an escaped slave worked for the Union to end slavery and after the war worked for women's suffrage.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2015
This book is written in colloquial African/American 19th century English and a little difficult to digest. You have to push through this barrier if you can, but overall her courageous adventures and indefatigable strength, perseverance and attitude is highly humbling and extremely commendable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2014
An amazing women but this biography is hastily and poorly written (at the author's own admission) specifically to allow Harriet to earn enough money to save her house (and parents' home) from being sold. It's fascinating nonetheless.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2014
After reading the Moses of the people I thought what a horrible world we live in and I think that if there is a god why isn't he watching
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2014
what a lady, it was quiet inspiring to read this book, her faith was some thing to desire. yes I would recommend this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2014
Very useful to read - although obviously in language appropriate to the time. Provides good background and insight.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)