Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
1,771
4.4 out of 5 stars
Quartet [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 21 April 2017
I love "The Quartet". A beautiful film. Ok, it's pure fiction, but sheer delight, both scenically and musically. Every character is wonderful. I can watch this over and over again. However, I'm getting on (quite a bit), therefore I will suggest that only us oldies would enjoy it, maybe it's not for those under 60 or so.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2017
Brilliant. Great actors and such a poignant story, but told with touches of very British humour. The kind of thing that demarcates our home-produced films from Hollywood films. Reality at the heart of it even though some aspects might be exaggerated for the sake of art!
This story is so sympathetically told. Did the author visit residential homes for older folk while writing it? The essence of the humour, the dignity, sometimes the despair, the failing self-confidence, the petty carping but the underlying support for one another, reflects something of the stoic, never-give-in attitude of people of this generation, and some of the characters reminded me of my parents - now departed, but never forgotten - particularly as my father was a musician. And playing music keeps the mind very sharp (until a stroke ruins everything - real life, not talking about the movie).
This film brought both laughter and tears. It had me fully engaged from beginning to end. The acting is superb. The director seems to have aimed for under-statement of the tragic bits, which might otherwise have been awkward, but has brought out the very credible personalities of the characters with tremendous insight and success.
Well done to writers, director, actors, photographers and everyone involved in the making of this film. I think it's a great credit to all who were involved in it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2017
This is a film that actually grows on you as it progresses, the majority of the '1 star' reviews are from people who watched 10 minutes OR LESS? Idiots one and all because while I respect their right to give whatever they wish it's nigh impossible and certainly unfair to even write a review UNLESS the whole or most of the film has been seen. That aside then, the storyline now is well known so no need to waffle on about that. In my opinion however, there is NOT a single aspect or department, from music - photography - screenplay - acting (or NOT as Mr Hoffman wished) - direction - production, absolutely NOTHING I could possibly criticise. A wonderfully tranquil story, with much of the cream and stalwarts of British Stage, Television and Film and most of whom I have grown-up with - Tom Courtenay - Loneliness of the Long Distance Runner, Pauline Collins - Upstairs Downstairs and so many more. A TRUE pleasure to watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2017
As one whose tastes in music are extraordinarily eclectic I am both delighted and amazed to be able to say that there is not a single note in this film that fails to enchant me.
None of the cast need any recommendation from me and, whilst Sheridan Smith had to do the best she could with an arguably misconceived character, that is hardly enough to make me waver from an overall 5-star rating. I just love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2017
Great film - wonderful characterisation from the four main roles, a good plot ( slightly modified from the original play,) lots of music , laughter and emotion. A wonderful cameo role from Dame Gwynneth Jones.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2014
Interesting story of retired musicians and opera performers, resident in a sort of hotel-cum-care-home.
The merit listings at the end of the film were enlightening, and the plan to cast real opera singers and musicians, made the story authentic,
The four lead roles being symbolic, and thought provoking for all who "have to retire" from roles in their particular working life.
Loss, grief, bitterness, anger, as well as hope, creativity, and future purposes are depicted.
Their characters representing people in those professions facing similar circumstances.
The cast all portraying their roles and characters brilliantly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2017
A lovely warm, touching and often very funny story of retired luvvies and divas living together in a retirement home Old past glories recalled, ancient rivalries reflected upon, lost love recovered. Fine performances from all concerned.
A real pleasure to watch and listen to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2017
Fabulous gentle story of people getting older....wonderful cameos .....and amazing stories behind the scenes. Fab acting by all concerned
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2017
A great easy to watch film,you don't have to think too hard like most !
All well known actors,,sad bits funny bits,very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2017
ordered it or my nephew as he had to make a decision for his parents to be accommodated in care, he thought it was excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)