Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
1,681
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.10+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 January 2013
The story of a retirement home for aged musicians who put on a gala performance show each year to contribute to keeping the home open. Their next show must raise more money as economic times harden. When the famous embittered diva Jean Thornton (Maggie Smith) arrives, then who better as a draw card? But she must be first persuaded to break her vow of never singing again to perform, in a Quartet - Rigoletto - "Bella figlia dell'amore".

The cast reads like a who's who of well known ageing British actors. Nevertheless, a good story line, differentiated characters and Dustin Hoffman has done a fine job of the direction.

The story itself is a delightful cheeky whimsical look at saying farewell to past glory and living with the reality of being over the hill. Some rather touching insights into failings of health with the onset of age, but not in the least depressing. The genre put me in mind of the movie, `The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel'. If you enjoyed that, then you'll enjoy this.

As should be expected from such an exulted cast the standard of acting is excellent, though dare I say, typecast... The story line doesn't take itself too seriously and the humour is nicely calculated to add to, rather than detract from, the drama.

The plot is somewhat predictable but, who cares when the characters are so endearing and/or irascible!

When we saw the movie, the average age of the audience matched those of the cast! But it was a sign of the success of the film that no one wished to depart the auditorium until the final strains of lovely music, and credits, had died away.

Maybe a little corny for some, but we thoroughly enjoyed it.
33 comments| 329 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2013
Age related yes, depressing a most definite NO. I thoroughly enjoyed this lovely film which was so sensitively handled by Dustin Hoffman with a wonderful cast to work with. The acting was superb and the inclusion of bygone musicians as "extras" was a brilliant idea and lovely to have them in the credits too. There was definitely a feelgood factor and I want to see it again.
11 comment| 165 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2013
This film is full of aged but non the less fantastic British Actors and performers lead by Tom Courtney, Billy Connelly, Pauline Collins who are retired opera singers living in a retirement home for retired musicians. They are asked to re group to perform together at the homes gala concert, along comes Jean Horton, played by the superb Maggie Smith the newest resident to the home (and 4th member of the quartet) ex wife of Reggie (Tom Courtney).

With plenty of great acting and a gentle story with a few giggles along the way this film is a must!
I am only in my 30s and adored it but it may not be every younger persons cup of tea.
0Comment| 117 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2013
You only have to look at the Cast to see what acting genius's we have in this film. They do not let us down. It is a really feel good film that has us in laughter, tears, and the stars give totally realistic performances.

To see Billy Connelly without his trademark locks and beard makes you wonder what is coming, but one soon learns that Dustin Hoffman has used his strength (hhis humour) to full advantage, albeit slightly more refined but with the notable twinkle in his eye.

Tom Courtney reigns supreme as does Maggie Smith, their story is a story within a story. Pauline Collins gives a stirling performance as someone who is suffering from dementia. Trevor Peacock, Michael Gambon...the list goes on.

As an opera fan I loved the music however friends who were privalged with me to see a preview of this film also loved the music. We all came out smiling.

This is Dustin Hoffman's first film as a director and what a fine one it is.

Anyone who loved The Marigold Hotel will want this in their library.
22 comments| 75 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2013
I went to see this last night at the cinema. Yes it is set in a home for retired musicians and most if them are old luvvies but it is a beautiful exploration of lost opportunities.

One reviewer said there was no plot other than "will they sing the Quartet?" Not sure how that conclusion was reached as there was a substantial plot exploring the consequences of jumping to conclusions about the behaviour of those we love and living the rest of your life with regrets. There was a second exploration too of living by the criticsm of others and the decision not to do things because of such critics.

"Aging isn't for sissies" is another theme as we see the frustrations and difficulties confronted by people who still have talents and a real zest for life. Pauline Collins deserves particular praise for her brave portrayal of someone confronting intermittent dementia.

The musicians throughout the film were on fire and gave genuinely heartfelt perfomances as both musicians and acting ... I even recognised some of them from their "glory days".

Well worth an hour and a half of your life.
0Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2013
Such a star line up of 'veteran' actors and Maggie Smith is amazing in any role she plays.
However in view of all the plaudits for this film, I found it a little disappointing - especially as it ended somewhat abruptly.
Glad I did not pay more for it! (thanks Amazon for good price - as ever)
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2013
I was so looking forward to seeing this film as I enjoyed the Best Exotic Marigold Hotel very much and thought it would be along the same lines. Unfortunately I found it depressing. The characters were disappointing especially from such a distinguished cast. Even Billy Connolly's wit couldn't save it. I am a big fan of Pauline ColIins and felt that her part which was a fairly weak character did not do her justice as she normally plays such strong, confident roles that make the most of her talent. (Shirley Valentine, Mrs. Caldicott's Cabbage War to name just two). I confess that I didn't watch it through until the end because it made me feel very gloomy and depressed about getting older, unlike the Best Exotic Marigold Hotel which made me feel that adventures can happen at any age. I felt that the film depicted old age as extremely depressing and tedious with not much to look forward to even if one is a retired musical star living in a better than average retirement home.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2013
Maggie Smith, Tome Courtenay, lovely Pauline Collins and Billy Connelly thrown in. What more could you want from a film, you might think? Well sadly, you could want a much stronger plot. Firstly, while each of the characters has their own problems, not one of them is infirm enough to convince you they be doing anything other than visiting a nursing home. It just isn't credible.

Secondly, the Maggie Smith/Tom Courtenay reunion plot is very gentle and comes to a nice feel good conclusion, but little else actually seems to happen. In fact, given the amount of character in the cast, it leaves you feeling cheated, so if you were expecting the fun of the Best Exotic Masrigold Hotel, or Maggie Smith's wonderful performance in the much older (but do see it because it's so good) Keeping Mum, you are likely to be disappointed. I paid the full price for the DVD and unwrapped it with anticipation and a bar of choccy on hand only to be left feeling as though nothing much had happened. It's like unwrapping a present from someone who usually gives you great gifts only to find it's something you don't want.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 July 2013
The original Ronald Harwood play of Quartet was performed to great acclaim by the Hoddesdon Players, an amateur group to which I once belonged. Indeed, it won a prize at Hertford Theatre Week, among other gongs. I was fascinated to see how Quartet turned out on the big screen for several reasons, chief among them how this fairly theatrical work translated (of which more later), but for other reasons too: how would Dustin Hoffman's directorial debut turn out, and why did he pick a very English piece by a very English playwright (who is actually South African and formerly an actor too, but let that pass) with a very fine British cast, set in an exceedingly English location and exploring the very finest Italian opera?

After all, the plot is essentially no different to the Blues Brothers: "we gotta raise money to save the orphanage from closing, so let's get the band back on the road." OK, no car chases or blues music, but instead Beecham House (played magnificently by the glorious Hedsor House in Buckinghamshire), ageing operatic stars (who, like The Sunshine Boys haven't worked together in donkey's years and are not necessarily remembering past relationships fondly) and a Gala Performance in aid of the Friends of Beecham House to raise money for the old place. But that is merely the stage upon which the players strut their stuff.

As it turns out, Hoffman did not approach this gentle slice of drama like a Sam Peckinpah or a Quentin Tarantino, so it's a pleasure to report that he stays true to the subtle nature of a comedy of manners and relationships without the need to bring the worst excesses of brash Americana to the show. No gun-toting, but a refreshingly light touch to allow the movie to breathe - the location, the characters and Harwood's cunning script are given time and space to show what they can do, and are much the better for it. The result is very much a three-dimensional film without the need for any 3D gimmickry.

Having said that, you couldn't go far wrong with a movie including such fine talents as Maggie Smith, Michael Gambon, Billy Connolly, Pauline Collins, Tom Courtenay, Andrew Sachs, Sheridan Smith, David Ryall, Trevor Peacock, and then Dame Gwyneth Jones and a host of ageing singers and musicians, exactly the sort of people you might hope to find spending their senior days in a splendid country home for retired musicians. All Hoffman had to do was rehearse them, point a camera and a mike at them; wind up the ensemble, let them get on with it! There is a beautiful other-worldliness to the way they move and play and sing that I truly cannot fault.

And boy, they surely don't disappoint. Of the principles, Billy Connolly might be argued as the weakest in terms of acting credentials, by virtue of having within his repertoire one character, one he plays exceedingly well mind you. His role as the cheeky Scottish chappy has been revived in a fair number of pictures in several variations (eg. Mrs Brown), having originated in his rough and ready Glasgow stand-up days, but is none the worse for that. I don't say this as criticism of Connolly, who is perfect for the role of flirtatious Wilf Bond (a sort of latter-day Scottish operatic Leslie Phillips) and plays it with the requisite charm such that socks must have been popping off everywhere on set. If he is overawed by being among such distinguished actors, he certainly doesn't show it - but then the Big Yin was always totally fearless, and that is his main strength.

Pauline Collins does exactly the right thing here. She underplays Cissy, the unmarried one who is beginning to lose her marbles, leaving the audience with glimpses of brittle pride and memory waning every so slowly, oblivious to the dawning pity in the eyes of her friends and colleagues. In a flashier movie it would be easy to lose such exquisite acting, but in this context Collins shows precisely why she is always in demand for roles requiring consummate skill.

She and the estimable Dame Maggie Smith both, in fact, and what a pleasure to see them playing together here in contrasting moods. Where Collins' Cissy is wan and fragile beneath an effusive exterior, Smith's Jean Horton enters aloof but sad, as if planning her declining years as a great star to be moulded from tragic ingredients. She is almost willing everyone to forget her, to deny her glorious past, while secretly hankering over the great recordings. As the film progresses, so Horton becomes more ebullient, regaining her caustic wit to live for another day of glory, and, who knows, maybe more beyond the rolling of the credits?

But for my money the acting honours must go to Sir Tom Courtenay, whom I had the pleasure of seeing play several roles at the Royal Exchange in Manchester, especially Malvolio in Twelfth Night. Always a fine robust actor whose characters were built by layer upon layer of truth and darkness, Quartet is surely the performance of Courtenay's long and distinguished career.

He has long since mastered the art of communicating his every nuanced thought with an inflection of the brow, a flick of the eye, a pursing of the chin. Every micro-movement conveys meaning and feeling. Even being still and silent (as actors are taught in their first year at RADA) is studied and smouldering. That is what acting for the big screen is all about, and many A-listers would do well to take note of how real character actors like Courtenay, Smith and Collins bring such emotional intensity to their roles.

Here it combines in Courtenay to become a thing of hawklike grace and beauty - you know how he feels when the wife he adored but who abandoned him retires to the same house; you feel his desire to escape, but also how and why Reg Paget allows Jean Horton the tiniest of chances to make amends. But see also how Reggie interacts with and wins over a group of youngsters: they try to explain rap and hip-hop to him, he tries to explain opera to them - a joy to behold!

The cavalry charge of light relief is provided by Ryall and Peacock's Flanagan and Allen double act, much to the obvious irritation to Gambon's purist Cedric ("that's See-drick") Livingstone. I do wish Gambon wouldn't ham it up when given the opportunity, but he's obviously having fun so who am I to deny him?

Criticisms? Hoffman's light and delicate soufflé goes a little flat in patches, and also loses a touch of credibility by the fact that Beecham House is way too opulent for most royalty, let alone retired musicians.

Dustin, himself 75 years young, also fails to grab the opportunity to explore the vagaries of old age rather than portraying the residents as musicians and singers who just happened to grow old and experience the various inconveniences of age. An opportunity gone begging to apply passion and insight to the plight of the elderly, to show age for the complex and difficult beast it truly is - and none of us are exempt.

Ah, I hear you ask, but do we get to hear the quartet perform the Verdi Quartet? Alas, since the performers are actors rather than singers, there is a limitation to their range, and this is it. Where on stage miming worked brilliantly, the faking here would have undone much of the painstaking veracity constructed over the previous 98 minutes. So the camera discreetly draws a veil and withdraws. You wish the protagonists a long and happy retirement.

Make no mistake, this is quality stuff - the buzz between the players is palpable, and I'd urge you to go see it for that alone - the charm of the piece will win you over anyway.
33 comments| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2013
Saw this film last night. Absolutely brilliant. I thought even more funny than Marigold Hotel. It was lovely to hear the laughter in the cinema and no-one moved until after all the credits - which makes a change from filmgoers leaving and spoiling other people's view of them! Cannot wait to get the DVD to see it again.
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)