Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Morrissey Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
38
4.6 out of 5 stars
Walking the Amazon [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.07+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 20 July 2017
Love Ed's programmes. DVD is excellent watch. If you are into any sort of out door adventuring definitely worth a watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2017
:-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2017
Anazing story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2015
verry nice !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2017
All good got this today happy good DVD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2015
Picked this up after watching some of Ed's newer Discovery shows such as Naked and Marooned and Marooned with Ed Stafford and have to say I really enjoyed it! Filmed over Ed's 860 days you get a brief insight to some of the conditions and challenges he faced along this incredible journey trekking the Amazon. I have to say that personally I find Ed is a fresh change to some showmen with similar but over-hyped shows, which in my view makes this adventure all the more enjoyable. Overall i'd give it the DVD a good 4 stars, would have easily been 5 had they been a little more in depth and given us more content. I can't help but feel the makers of this DVD should have made this into a short series such as Walking the Nile or On Thin Ice rather than cram what they could onto a DVD. Highly recommended though!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2016
I nearly didn't buy this DVD because it stated is was only 50 minutes long. It is in fact 100 minutes long. I wouldn't pay any more than £5 for it though, because it is just what was shown on tv minus the adverts. There is no extras etc. Still watchable but being a DVD you would think they would add more content.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2014
Bought this after being gripped by the Marooned documentary series, this isn't quite as good as I didn't find it as in depth however I suppose it is because this was filmed over such a large period of time. Such a truly amazing achievement and mind blowing to think how long he was out there for. Still a great watch for any Ed Stafford fan.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2015
On having read the book which is a great read wanted to watch the trip. The DVD(Trip) is broken down into segmented clips of of Ed's journey and is nice to watch and visually see what I've read before.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2014
Chronicling the first successful traverse of the Amazon basin on foot, from the source of the river to its mouth, this is a gripping account of a death-defying and truly amazing adventure.

Unfortunately, having also read the book, this DVD represents only the most fleeting glimpse of what is a truly gargantuan expedition, and a mere 100 minutes or so simply doesn't do justice to such an epic undertaking, which took nearly two and a half years to complete.

In addition, I could have done without the upsetting footage of the clearly distressed baby monkey that, presumably having been wrenched from its mother, had been cruelly tethered by illegal loggers. Like its mother, this adorable infant was destined for the cooking pot, though not before first being kept as a 'pet' until big enough to eat. In addition to witnessing the tethered baby monkey, not to mention its dead mother being roasted over a fire and then cut up, we also see a tortoise being brutally killed, then its shell opened like a tin to reveal that it's also pregnant; a snake being beaten to death, because it was deemed a risk to other humans that may have stumbled upon it; and a freshly killed, disembowelled tapir and its lifeless unborn infant, which, as I recall, was not shown when these programmes aired on TV here in the UK.

It could, of course, be argued that such experiences, however unpleasant, are all part of the story. However, with regard to the monkey, I really can't understand how, as appears to be the case, Ed could bring himself to eat the mother's flesh after having witnessed the distressed infant. It would also appear that, while clearly none-too-happy about the killing of the tapir, Ed nevertheless ate the flesh of both the mother and, presumably, the unborn infant. And at the risk of being judgemental, let's not forget that, unlike indigenous peoples who HAVE to hunt wildlife in order to survive, Ed intentionally put himself in this situation, simply for the sake of an expedition. Judging by the narration, it would also appear that both the monkey and the tapir may well have been killed illegally. Furthermore, and despite being referred to as spider monkeys, the baby monkey looked very much like a woolly monkey, which, as I understand, are vulnerable/endangered.

In light of the above, and whilst I accept the need to avoid overly sanitizing real life in documentary portrayals, I therefore feel that there was a distinct lack of sensitivity on the part of the programme-makers. After all, had Ed witnessed and filmed the body of a human that had been brutally murdered, or indeed a stillborn human baby, would such images have been included in the final DVD? Of course not! I also find it hard to understand why the programme-makers seemingly had no qualms about including such graphic scenes as are outlined above, while at the same time clearly deeming it necessary to spare us from hearing the 'F-word'!

In summary, this is a gripping account of a truly remarkable expedition, which despite it representing only a fraction of Ed's experiences, and despite the inclusion of some upsetting and none-too-pleasant footage, I would strongly recommend.
22 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)