Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
48
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 February 2013
Howard Goodall never disappoints his compositions and his arrangements are always so magical taking the listener to an inner world where you can relax and reflect on a life that is enriched with such beautiful music. This album has a nice mix but of course it is always the "Enchanted Voices" that stand out as perfection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
OK
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2013
It is a pleasure to listen over and over again and will inspire church choirs and any musically en;igghtened person
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2013
This is a truly beautiful collection of pieces. The power and fragility of the music in the new Oratorio is superb, the voices
of the choirs balance the sublime voice of soprano Laura Wright (whose voice seems particularly suited to these pieces) and accomplished tenor Noah Stewart and with the soaring harmonies, this has to be one of the best pieces of new writing. And how great too that a 21st Century composer writes this moving music that truly describes the impact of the King James bible and yet also produces pieces such as the TV theme tunes that are popular and fitting for any audience today. I love it!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2013
Don't be fooled into thinking this CD simply features some of Howard Goodall's `greatest hits' in new arrangements! Tracks 10 - 19 are the world première recording of a beautiful, uplifting oratorio, `Every Purpose Under the Heaven' which was commissioned to commemorate the 400th anniversary of the King James Bible in 2011. The work is superbly sung by the gorgeously youthful voices of the Chamber Choir of Lincoln Minster School, together with soloists Laura Wright and Noah Stewart. And almost tucked away amongst other Goodall goodies like the familiar Mr Bean theme (`Ecce homo'), a piano fantasy on Red Dwarf's `Tongue-Tied' and a stunning new arrangement of `The Lord is My Shepherd' (featuring Craig Ogden) is another gem - `Shackleton's Cross'. This piece is movingly played on the piano by the composer and was apparently inspired by Edward Seago's painting of the same name which is in the Royal Collection. Inspired......
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2013
I wasn't really enamored by this music I'm afraid. I've listened to the C.D once and thought that although extremely pretty the songs were not at all what I had expected from the clips I had heard on Classic FM. The clips had highlighted beautiful crescendo's in the music but actually upon listening it was an anti-climax.
I was really quite disappointing and found it difficult to listen to the soprano as I felt she was straining her voice a touch and sounded a little throaty.

Very pleasant in places but I'm not really inspired.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2013
I love classical music and this album is such a glorious mixture of some well known pieces and some new ones. As I repeatedly listen to it I hear bits I seemed to miss the first time. it seems to be music that literally grows on you.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2013
Dreary outside, cosy indoors, candle lit, hot mug of tea, comfy sofa, CD on - bliss! A beautiful CD that calms and uplifts - buy it :)
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2013
I admire Mr. Goodall`s work and this disc did not disappoint. Its beautiful. Some parts gave me "Goose Bumps"....! Its now in my ipod and I recommend it to all Mr Goodall`s fans both old and new. Buy it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2013
Again, a very likeable disc featuring Laura Wright"s beautiful voice with it"s full range from the low register to high.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£0.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)