Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
9
The Last Fourfathers
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99


TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 3 June 2011
I loved the Prisoners as a kid and I still love them as a 43-year-old man. Superb melodies, amazing musicianship and a classy low-fi production makes this one of the best Prisoners releases. It is a crying shame that Graham Day is not on everybodys Walkman or IPOD. If any other Prisoners fan out there needs a new band to follow - who sound like a combination of The Prisoners mixed with Swedish garage merchants The Nomads - then I should point you in the direction of The Norvins Time Machine another class record. Trust me, if you liked the Prisoners they are right up your street.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 October 2013
Great album. This is a genre of music that should appeal to all music lovers across the spectrum as the Prisoners are that good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 February 2004
Third album from the much loved (and criminally overlooked) Prisoners and it's a scorcher...every track worth the purchase price alone. Indeed, even if you already have this album the extra tracks (8 in total, 6 previously unissued demos and 2 blistering live tracks) not only make this a must buy but help in the 'trying not to wear my vinyl out' stakes too!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 June 2015
Great album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 December 2012
Brill item, what can be said about The Prisoners that as not been said already, they are one of the best mod bands ever.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 January 2018
Had this on vinyl and although it sounded like it was recorded in a dustbin it had a rough charm.This remastered CD version still sounds tinny and muffled but all the inadequacies of the original recording are amplified,on some tracks all the extraneous thuds made it sound like someone was banging on my ceiling.It's a pity the great songs and pretty great playing never got the chance to shine by being recorded more professionally.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 August 2003
At long last the Prisoners back catalogue has been released on CD. Not quite the same as vinyl but with the extra tracks a definite must! This was the most elusive of the four albums and is undoubtedly the best. The raw guitar backed by the Hammond is pure 60's type energy. The whole album is a melting pot of Small Faces crossed with Deep Purple crossed with late 60's American Garage. The Prisoners always had a unique sound which although their influences are obvious, there has never been another band which has had the same ability to carry it off so well.The tracks on the original album are originals but could so easily have been written in 1966/67 a la Marriot/Lane. Raw energy? Oh yes. Technical ability? Most definitely. Sheer brilliance? Most definitely so!!!!
If you buy one CD this year make it this one. This is without a shadow of a doubt a classic for anyone into the 60's revival genre. Never an advocate of "revivalist bands" the Prisoners were outstanding in that they captured the sound of what we hold so dear.....
Highlight of the album... "Explosion On Uranus". Absolutely superb. Small Faces meet the Ventures to produce one of the most outstanding tracks I've heard for a film that should have been made. On the track alone I'd go and see it!
Play this album at maximum volume. Your neighbours need to hear it too!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 April 2003
This album is a classic I owned a copy on vynal, which i have since lost. This is a must have album for any garage punk fan. Laced heavily with hammond organ, every track is a classic from the gritty opener nobody wants your love, to the kaotic instrumentals, Mrs Fothergill and explosion on uranus. My fave track I drink the ocean has to one of the best tunes every written.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 March 2014
This release is far their best, its not so poppy as A Taste Of Pink and has more of a psychedelic appeal, though the vocals are weak, a change of singer would have been a good move for them, for some reason the mod scene picked upon this band a that was that to small a scene to ever get anywhere.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)