Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
44
4.4 out of 5 stars
Child Ballads
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.13+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 2 March 2013
As previous reviews have said, this album breathes new life into some old classics which just goes to show that there is no such thing as a 'definitive version'. Surely folk music by its very name has always been a personal interpretation of well-loved classics and this version brings a fresh approach to some old friends. Having seen Anais and Jefferson this week in Guildford, I can certainly recommend the live concert - a beautiful and sensitive performance by both artists, interspersed with very personal insights into the songs and how the album came to be recorded. Go and see them if you can - you won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2013
I tried this on spec, not being an avid folk music lover and so I make no comment on whether they do the songs justice compared to earlier versions. I have only played it a few times as yet, and am only at the level of listening to the tunes and the (pleasant) voices of the duo, not concentrating on the words. However, on that fairly simplistic basis, I am enjoying this album very much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2016
THis is probably the best folk album i've bought in the last 5 years. It is a fantastic duet both in guitar arrangements (deceptively simple - trust me, they aint -the interlocking parts/rhythms are great) and beautifully judged low key harmony singing, with very well matched voice tones! plus Child Ballads, so all the songs are classic in any case, with a fresh feel. spot on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2013
I bought this after seeing Anais and Jefferson in a tiny pub room in Nottingham, where they played with minimal amplification. The recordings are very similar to the live performances, with a little extra instrumentation. The guitar playing and vocal harmonies are sweet but never sickly, bringing an American twang to the old folk standards. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2013
There are so many songs in the Child Ballads repertoire that to sing them all would take nearly a lifetime. Here, Anais and Jefferson give us a snippet from that repertoire, but a great snippet, well sung. If you love original British folk songs, this is for you. I hope that this is just the first of many Child Ballads CDs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2014
As smooth as maple syrup. Not your common ballads sung with the singers eyes closed and one hand over one of his ears. this was so good I put the recording on a loop system and played it over and over again; and that is a sure sign of a good album! I shall be on the lookout for more from the same artists,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2013
As a fan of english folk music I bought thisalbum with a little trepedation however my worries were dumbfounded after the eire Young man in America, this change of tack by Anais Mitchell was deeply rewarding the striped down music speaks for itself withthe deep joys of the ballads.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2014
I have become completely obsessed with this album. It simultaneously manages to make you hang on to every single word of each story, whilst being completely contemporary. Buy this album - it restored my faith is ballad singing!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2013
Excellent interpretation of well know folksongs played and sung beautifully. Both the playing and the singing are not over played.
I cannot wait to hear more of Anais Mitchell & Jefferson Hamer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2014
I bought it as a present for someone but they were a little bemused by it. I think they recognised one track that was played a lot on the radio. If this is what you like you will enjoy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Xoa
£10.71

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)