Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
82
Snakecharmer
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99


on 20 February 2013
Great CD by this new band featuring some former Whitesnake memebers. Comparisons are going to be made, and not unfairly, as this does have a more than slight hint of pre 1987 Whitesnake.But Chris Ousey's vocals are far superior to modern day Coverdale, and Micky Moody has lost none of his smoothness on guitar. Neil Murray and Harry James are about as good as it gets as a rhythm section, driving everything along in style. Add into the mix Laurie Wisefield's guitar and keyboards from Adam Wakeman, and you have a line up to drool over. The 13 track CD is made up of classic hard blues rock, with a couple of ballards and a hint of late 70s AOR, which all sound fresh and crisp. This is the kind of album blues rock fans have been crying out for, and I hope it's the first of many from this true supergroup!
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 24 January 2013
If your ready and willin,then come and get it,slide it in,press play and smile ,cos' this is an absolute treat from start to finish.Music for the older generation,if anyone under 30 gets it,great,welcome to the party,its old rockers making veteran fans very happy indeed.

From the opening moments of 'My Angel' its obvious the template is Whitesnake but its the band of old,the one we pine for,listen to the superb twin harmony lead guitar on 'Accident Prone',admit it you've got a grin from ear to ear,so it continues,smooth vocals vying with simple but effective lead guitar underpinned with a solid rythmn section complimented with understated but effective keyboards.

There's not a duff track on this disc,thankfully they shied away from any 'Snake covers,they can fill out the live set,here's hoping they tour.
How high do i rate this? well it could happily sit alongside 'Ready n Willin' & 'Come and Get It',its easily as good.

superb stuff,great musos,great band especially having Laurie Wisefield back rockin',Snake's the obvious influence,but you can hear a little Ash,Thunder,nods to Bad Co,hopefully the start of a real 'supergroup',here's to then future.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 August 2013
I really wanted to like this album, was hoping it would hit me like Bad Co did when I got their first album or the first time I heard Thunder and thought "where have you been all my life"....but it comes across as a tad cheesy lyric wise,., I know 70's rock bands were cheesy but this one has some mature cheddar moments...not to say there are not good songs on the album and it moves along but I was hoping for a bit more from it....it will have its fans and deservedly so but.....its been compared to early Whitesnake, can see it (and hear it) but for me I would take the early Snake every time...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 July 2017
Solid blues/rock. Nothing to dislike, but maybe the songs could have been stronger.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 March 2013
Snakecharmer is as expected a very good album, great songs played very well by a great band steeped in Rock and Blues. My only problem is with Chris Ousey' voice, not that i think it's bad ! but it could be a little more powerfull and make use of his lower register more. It does put me off listening to it , i have to say ! but over all , i think it's a very good first album and i hope they make another soon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 February 2013
I fully support all that's been said by people who already gave 5 stars to this record. It's a great memorable set of songs, written and produced by a bunch of amazing musicians, some of them my heroes for years (Micky Moody, Laurie Wisefield, ...). Just one thing to do: GET THIS ASAP.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 January 2015
If you like rocky, bluesy great guitar/bass/drums/singing from the start then this is for you. The nod to Whitesnake is obvious but not such a bad thing at all.
Would have given it 5 stars but there's one track i'm not sure about how ever i wont tell you which one as it's only my humble opion and may cloud others enjoyment. TBH Probably in a months time i will have come round and give it 5 star plus... !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 March 2013
If you like the Whitesnake of the Mikey Moody,Bernie Marsden era then you should like this. Accident Prone is the excellent single,but also tracks that do it for me are Guilty as Charged,Turn of the Screw and Smoking Gun. Nice to hear an "old school" rock album again,made by a band of great musicians,and a classic rock vocalist in Chris Ousey. Buy it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 April 2013
Came across this group by accident yes I've heard of all them but didn't now they joined together and I love it classic simple rock with great lyrics great vocal great guitarist just beautiful what a great happy accident and if you happen to stumble across this album buy it and rock
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 March 2013
This is the debut from Micky Moody's new band featuring Laurie Wisefield (Wishbone Ash years ago) Neil Murray, Adam Wakemanand Harry James. Can't remember the singer's name, and thats why I only gave it 4 stars. Great music, but I would have preferred a different singer. But this album DOES rock!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

II
£7.99
Make Some Noise
£6.49
Pirates of the Carribeann Theme
£0.79

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)