Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
15
4.9 out of 5 stars
50th Anniversary   The Singles Collection   1962-1972
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£39.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 31 May 2016
Superb!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 16 February 2016
INTRODUCTION:

Martha & The Vandellas was a female R&B vocal trio from Detroit, Michigan, consisting of Martha Reeves (born on July 18, 1941), Annette Beard and Rosalind Ashford. Reeves had been in the Del-Phis, recorded for Checkmate. She worked at Motown as an A&R secretary and sang backup. Vandellas sang backup on several of Marvin Gaye’s hits. Beard left group in 1963, replaced by Betty Keely (formerly with The Velvelettes). Group disbanded from 1969-71; re-formed with Martha and sister Lois Reeves, and Sandra Tilley in 1971. Martha Reeves went solo in late 1972. The group charted from 1963 to 1972, with 26 charted hits. The initial name was Martha & The Vandellas (1963 – 1967) and later changed to Martha Reeves & The Vandellas (1967 – 1972)(just like Diana Ross & The Supremes).

CONTENT:

This 3 CD set contains 82 songs.

POSITIVE POINTS:

1 Unlike the similar Singles Collection on the Supremes, Four Tops & the Temptations where the later period was NOT covered, this set (the first 2 CDs) covers the ENTIRE career of the group, with songs arranged chronologically, charted and uncharted, a and b-sides (52 songs). There are many b-sides, making their CD debut!
2 The 3rd disc is devoted to 27 previously unreleased songs, now arranged chronologically.
3 Similar to other Singles Collection in this series, the packaging is simply wonderful. Instead of the usual thick CD cases, we have a book, measuring 8.1 x 7.25”, containing 60-page book, with many wonderful pictures of the group, picture sleeve covers covering the entire page (simply gorgeous), and detailed discography essays. This really reminded me of the Bear Family box sets, except this is a smaller size. Very well done.
4 There are 3 special bonus tracks: 2 Spanish Singles (Yo Necesito De Tu Amor (I’m Ready For Love) and Jimmy Mack), plus a previously unreleased stereo single version of Jimmy Mack. Simply precious!
4 The sound is good, with no hiss.

NEGATIVE POINTS:

1 For a 3 CD set, the price is rather expensive. But the high price is balanced by the wonderful packaging. I patiently waited until the price from seller dipped below $40 before I made my purchase.
2 The solo hits of Martha Reeves (Power Of Love, Wild Night and Love Blind) were not included. The inclusion would have made this collection more complete. However, she was on different labels: instead of Gordy, she was on MCA and Arista.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

This is the most complete comprehensive collection of the Singles output by Martha Reeves and the Vandellas, easily besting the previous 2 CD set Live Wire! The Singles 1962-1972 with only 43 songs. Many of the rare b-sides now make their CD debut. With wonderful packaging in the form of a book, with many beautiful rare picture sleeves and pictures of the group, I feel that it justifies the higher price. The sound is excellent, and these songs have also become my reference standard. I am very happy with this set, not perfect, but it does satisfy collectors like myself. After a long hard winter in Toronto, it is time to welcome “Heat Wave.” This set is highly recommended.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2013
Here we have it, at last. A truly luxurious and fitting tribute to a classic Motown act. It's heartwarming to think that there are people in the music industry who care about this sort of thing, and want to get it right. Everything about this collection oozes respect and professionalism. The result is a beautiful album case, super-size, with extensive notes about each and every track on the first two discs - all of which have been issued before, but here are given excellent mono mixes which capture the depth and unique balance of the originals. And on this point, this is a singles collection, and singles back then were all in mono, specially designed to be heard on the radio and jukeboxes,as well as on pre-stereo record players. It's a treat to hear these versions again, after many a stereo-mix collection. The music is very special. But, the big bonus is disc three - all completely new, dug out from the vaults. And what a treasure trove it is too. All the new tracks here are in stereo, as they were never released at the time in any format. And it's all at least as good as the wonderful "Spellbound: Lost and Found" collection of a few years back. Why was this stuff shelved? Impossible to tell, but we can speculate. Motown had other priorities. But, none of that affects the artistic quality on offer. Just listen to Martha's rendition of the track "Remember Me" for example. Torchy and magnificent. And "Light My Fire" - amazing, and should have been on the Black Magic album. And for completists, like me, there are two new versions of "I Can't Dance To That Music You're Playin'" - for my money, both are better than the one which Motown forced on producer Deke Richards at the time, the full story of which is told in the notes. So, there you have it. It's just superb, and an indispensable document of an under-appreciated, but truly great group. What are you waiting for? Go geddit! I'd give it 6 stars if I could.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2013
IF U ARE A MOTOWN COLLECTOR U WILL NEED THIS SET FOR DISC 3 WITH 27 UNREALESED TRACKS IS WORTH THE PRICE OF THIS SET ALONE .BUT U GET GREAT PHOTOS AND MARTHAS COMPLETE A'S AND B'S IN THE ORIGINAL MONO SINGLES AS WELL .BUY 2DAY B4 THEY SELL OUT!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2013
My copy arrived today and i listened to the third cd with the bonus tracks till after midnight. Waaauw what a sound and a pity it was in the archives for so many years. A lot of these tracks are even better than the work we know from her albums and i think all in all they are even better than the Lost and found "Spellbound" set. For me the most interesting track is the original version(s) of I can't dance to the music your playing, with Martha singing the chorus.Finally justice done to that song. The package of this set is also very nice. A big applause for the personel who dug this treasure up from the motown archives. And, since there seems to be even more in the vault, this won't be the last we hear from Martha Reeves and her Vandallas.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2015
Motown girl group,that is. Not one duff track on this excellent collection
Great lead singing,harmonies and sound
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2016
One of the best Girl Groups to ever come out of Motown. Martha and the Vandellas had their own unique sound. They were just the best. I know Dusty Springfield was a massive fan of theirs and loved working with them in England on Ready, Steady , Go! This was worth every penny (especially for the unreleased tracks) and I'd advise any Martha fans to buy this while it's still available.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2016
Another good release from the Motown stable, compliments the complete singles collection very well, good quality production. The addition of 20+ unreleased tracks is a real bonus. Pity they have waited so long to produce these.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
I have many greatest hits of Martha and the vandellas on American and British releases but if you like Martha and the vandellas and are just looking for one greatest hits this is the one. It is in a hardback book form with pictures and information on the girls and on every track and cd 3 has a whole cd of never before released masters. A brilliant box set.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2013
when you here the hits like heatwave, jimmy mack and dancing in the street you cant stop your self from singing along, even though these songs are 50 yrs old, tell me do you think that people will remember any of todays music in 50 yrs time ? I doubt it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)