Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
82
4.5 out of 5 stars
Disney Infinity Starter Pack (Nintendo Wii U)
Platform: Nintendo Wii U|Change
Price:£17.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


TOP 500 REVIEWERon 9 October 2016
Even though the starter kit is quite cheap, I am finding that it is expensive to buy all the individual characters.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2017
👍🏻
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2015
my son loved it well worth the money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2013
love it very cool
all the games are very good love them all
well done Disney
now need some more playsets
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2015
First class
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2013
Disney Infinity costs a lot of money if you want to get the most out of it. There's no denying it and it's definitely a hard obstacle for some players to overcome.

The good news is that you don't *have* to buy anything extra if you just want to play by yourself in the playsets and mess around in the Toybox mode. But this game is designed to be played with more than the starting figures and your progression through the game is going to be slowed down if you only own the first three. If you want to play splitscreen co-op through the playsets, you'll need to buy one more character from each movie set. You also unlock new items faster in the Toybox mode with more characters, because each time a character levels up, it grants you one random toy.

In fact, I'd say that the game's randomised unlock system for the toybox is my biggest disappointment from Disney Infinity. The game makes you jump through a lot of hoops to get "spins" for a menu that picks a random toy from a group of sixteen locked items. It sounds like a really minor complaint, but some of the locked items are important for making even basic games (checkpoints, enemy generators, alternative camera views, scoreboards and more). Disney Infinity advertises itself as an open, creative experience but you have to play through most or all of the playsets and challenges before you can collect what you need to make what you want.

If the game is good, the figures themselves are fantastic. Sulley and Mr Incredible are quite simplistic in design, but Captain Jack is wonderfully detailed. Each character has been redesigned to fit the toy theme of the game and even without the game, these would make great display items.

Finally, the Wii U version of the game lacks a couple of features that should really have been included in this version. There's no Wii U Pro Controller support for the second player - only really fiddly Wii Remote and Nunchuck controls - but the Infinity website FAQ suggests that a patch may be introduced to fix this. Also, the local multiplayer is only available as a splitscreen, rather than one player on the gamepad screen and the other on the TV. This is especially disappointing for me, because my TV isn't very wide.

So, in conclusion, Disney Infinity is a really fun game if you're only buying the starter pack, but to get the most of the experience you'll have to put in a lot more money and time than you might be willing to.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2016
This game has to be some of the most fun I've ever had on a Disney game. Many of hours of fun and competitive challenges. I have now also become a collector of Disney Infinity Characters from this game. Brilliantly made game and now turned into many different series, I love it.
review image review image review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2013
I've had this on preorder for months; I'm a huge disney fan and couldn't wait to play. I even took the weekend off work! I enjoyed skylanders for the different characters but this really tops it. you know the characters right away and I can see myself spending huge amounts of money to get everyone I love. My husband and I are really enjoying the two player, esp as he can do missions while I can collect points and different costumes.

My parents who love disney and Pixar were really impressed with the game when they came over and the most video games they play is scrabble online.

A must for the wiiU.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
Not played this but have seen the kids play it loads. Still playing in the next three to six months as well probably. we have bought quite a lot of figures & play sets & can say I have never spent so much on a game. the power disks are a little tricky as you buy a pack blind not knowing what they are but have teamed up with some locals & we swap them free to each other(thanks you lot). at the moment they are hooked on the lone ranger set (crap film) but the game is the best yet they say. I have seen this on the xbox 360 & can say the Wii U version is a lot better on the graphics & seems to have much better colour. Couple of gripes - the second remote screen is not used & a max of 2 players at a time. we have 4 kids. Very good package & if you are prepared to pay for all those extras then GO TREAT THEM. Ps it is worth spending money on the play sets as they open up complete different game worlds. The total money we have spent makes me want to down mark this game but the kids really like it!!!! so full marks it is then. A+++++
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 28 April 2016
“Disney Infinity” is an action-adventure videogame that uses collectible figures which – when synchronised with the game – allow you to play as various characters in many different environments. What makes this game special is the way it interacts with physical toys - which are ‘brought to life’ when placed on the Infinity Base. This starter pack for the Wii U includes all you need to play, and comes with the game disc, the Infinity Base, and three figures (Mr. Incredible, Jack Sparrow, and Sulley). The game is exciting and colourful, with good graphics and music. In my opinion, this game looks best when played on the Wii U.

Using a ‘playset’, you access a fictional world with its own gameplay and story (based on a film or series). So a playset is like any other game – it has its own storyline, involving an adventure with a beginning and end. These playsets can only be used with specific characters. Then there’s the Toy Box mode – where you can create your own ongoing game in an open-world environment. All the characters can join-in any game created in Toy Box mode, and there’s lots of hours of play value to be had, customising the environment, creating challenges and exploring.

There are a number of playsets – such as: Pirates of the Caribbean, Monsters University, the Incredibles, Cars, the Lone Ranger, and Toy Story. Each has its own campaign, and is a lot of fun. There are numerous figures to collect and play with, and there are ‘power discs’ available (adding new elements to the game) … so lots of additional content.

This game is suitable for children age 5+. And, of course, it can be played by adults. It’s easy to set-up and install. The figures – which stand 3” to 4” in height – look fantastic, just like as seen in the films. They’re nice to collect (and make good gifts for children), but they do cost extra – so if you start building up a collection you’ll be spending quite a lot of money. And, of course, there are sequels: Infinity 2.0 and 3.0 … all costing extra.

While I have enjoyed the various campaign storylines (of each playset), for me the best aspect of the game is Toy Box mode – where you can create your own virtual world. My two nephews (age 5 and 7) have spent hours playing in their self-made worlds.

Overall, a lot of fun – but buying the add-on content costs a lot.
review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 10 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)