Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



on 15 June 2014
This is a well meaning but totally confused diet book. It reads like a long newspaper article. And in the same way, this manages to do what many newspaper health headlines do: it contradicts itself! While I understand newspapers doing that (they need to sell papers and advertising), doing it in a book is unacceptable.

This book *sometimes* uses science. Using science is of course the right idea, but if you're going to do it, you have to use it fairly and not just cherry pick the 'headlines' you want.

For example, don't say that IGF-1 is something which some adults have too much of, and then suggest using milk for your breakfast cereals. Milk is literally the highest booster of IGF-1 around!

Also, freely using emotional words like 'indulge' and 'boost' to make science sound friendly and tempting is manipulating people's hopes and dreams. Why? Because science actually shows that the 'a little bit of what you fancy' mentality is exactly the thing that sends dieters into a spiral of rebounding weight, sometimes forever. The cheery 'everything in moderation' dream has been dooming dieters for decades. It's much more honest to dish out the facts: dieting is hard, and for long term success, you have to understand things and then do those things right pretty much ALL the time.

Then there's is the book's casual mentioning of 'low fat' food choices. Talk about old fashioned thinking. First of all, fat in food isn't necessarily bad. And even if you believe it is, the author recommends using the legal definitions of low fat food as something to guide your choices. That's just plain silly. Food can actually be low fat by legal definition, but still not low in fat in terms of true *percentage* of fat calories. How? Because manufacturers use fat weight as the criteria (grams of fat per 100 grams of food). This is sneaky as often a large amount of any food is made up by water. Take that away, and the calorie content itself could still be almost 50% fat by calories. A certain low fat chip manufacturer claims 5% fat chips. Yes, there is just under 5 grams of fat per 100 grams of frozen chips. Take away the water, and over 30% of those chips' calories come from fat.

I could go on, but this review would start become confusing JUST like the book I'm reviewing! I ranting because it's sad to see that we're in the 21st century, and people are out there writing 'plans', insteading of educating us about the bigger picture. The best plans aren't really plans, but ways of eating. Intermittent fasting, in its most basic form, is way better than this. And there are plenty of books here to suit different readers.

If you're looking for something reliable in the long term, and written by someone who understands science instead of just understanding what happened to work for them and calling *that* science, do your mental / physical health a favour and look for something else.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 November 2013
If you SERIOUSLY want to lose weight. You Have to try this. Amazing results. I lost 9 lbs in the first week. It is not another faddy diet it makes you think about what you eat and seriously changes your mind set about food. Give it a try...I dare you
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 March 2015
I found this diet so amazing and the facebook page is so helpful love love love it x would highly recommend x
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 April 2013
As a serial dieter and ex member of many a weight loss club/slimming regimes I was intrigued by my friends weight loss on something called the FBI Plan.
I joined the page/support group on Facebook, downloaded the book and have not looked back.

This is a healthy eating plan and with added bonus of weight loss, increased energy levels and proven medical statistics that indicate a whole menagerie of additional health benefits.

This book is so much better than 5:2 as the FBI Plan is a healthy, easily manageable eating experience - all clearly explained by the author.
Not too much intense reading to do, a step by step guide to the 3 phases with clear examples of food diaries, a few recipes and the added bonus of a very supportive author who personally takes a keen interest in everyone's FBI journey. Exercise is encouraged but as and when you can fit it in.

I started this plan after a few weeks at a famous Slimming Club where I had paid a joining fee, paid to be weighed weekly, prompted to buy processed branded foods and had no support through the week. I lost 4 lb in 3 weeks.

In stark contrast to an 11 lb loss in 3 weeks on the FBI.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 June 2013
I am a firm favorite of intermittent fasting and what Dawn has provided here is an excellent introduction to this way of life.Its quite easy to follow and not at all difficult to work out how many cals you can have when you are fasting etc.Its also a great to have a relaxed way to keep track of what you should eat to achieve the weight loss and what you should avoid.The best part of it is you can fast for 2 or 3 days( its up to yourself how many days you want to fast for) but no more than 3 is advised.You also can have 2 days I for INDULGENCE, and 2 days for BALANCE,meaning you have the flexability of choosing what days you want to fast,Indulge,and Balance.I myself fast for 2 days and always do them a day apart and leave the Indulgent days for the weekend...just so I can have a relaxed couple of days and not feel as if I'm undoing all the good I've done on my fast days, and of course the Balance days you can eat loads of lovely food....within reason! All in all I think this is an easy start to a Brilliant way to lose weight and in no way would you feel you are missing out on anything.Well done Dawn.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 January 2013
Good quick summary and I like the different take on the usual 5 2 diet. I've now lost 9lbs in a very short space of time and haven't found it difficult at all!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 July 2013
Finally a plan that makes sense & is super easy to stick to (even with 3 children & a house full of treats)!!!
Dawn has written in the plan in a very simple and honest way making it so understandable to follow and easy to read.
The online support from Dawn & the rest of the group members is fantastic ... join them on Facebook.
I have been following the plan for 11 weeks & have so far lost 34lbs (2 stone 6 lbs) and feel amazing for it ... which for me is a huge achievement!
The FBI plan has become more than just a diet it is now a new way of life & has completely changed the way I think about my eating habits forever!
If you buy one book to lose weight this year make it this one .... you really will not regret it !
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 June 2013
A brilliant book - simple and straightforward approach to food without any costly brands, tablets, pills or potions. Just a gentle easing in to re-evaluating your eating habits and making simple changes.
Dawn is so supportive and helpful on her linked Facebook page too.
Common-sense approach to food - it's a winner! :)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 June 2013
This is a brilliant guide to a great easy diet. Lots of helpful advice & tips from Dawn. Well written & in language I can easily understand. Don't be put off by the word Fasting its not difficult! Would highly recommend to anyone who wants to lose weight & struggles with most other diets. Thanks Dawn Burt.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 May 2014
There's not much to this book but what it does contain is very sensible and straightforward advice and suggestions for developing healthy eating habits. The three pronged approach of fast,balance and indulge is a variation on the 5:2 plan but is therefore a bit less difficult to follow. Although when all is said and done it's only common sense - eat sensibly and exercise to make a difference!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)