Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop now Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 16 September 2015
I've read many, many books in my 40 odd years and this author has to be ranked amongst the greatest. If you've never read more than one book in your life,make sure it's a Phil Rickman book and you will never be disappointed
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2017
Don't be mislead by the young adult tag, this is Phil Rickman at his best. Characters are well written and believable gives lie somewhat to the fable that Glastonbury is all sweetness and light it isn't. A cracking tale.........more about Marco please Phil.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2017
Thoroughly enjoyable - an excellent read for teens and geeky adults (like me) - who cannot be turned on by Glastonbury, an ongoing source of magic, mysticism, and romance, even if the reality is somewhat more prosaic?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2016
the second book takes the legend of King Arthur to another level revealing facts of the end of King Arthurs life that may not be known as well as the rest of the story of the round table, Also challenging the way money and profit can damage people in a small town, and the benefits of a simpler life. The challenges of a too rigid Christian belief that can damage the Church as seen from the outside.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2013
Phil Rickman's books are always brilliant. I believe this book is aimed at a younger audience, I am not part of that generation however I thoroughly enjoyed the read and wait with bated breath for the next Rickman tale,
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2013
I think this is the follow up to Marco's Pendulum. Although I enjoyed this story I found it much darker and did not enjoy it as much as Marco's Pendulum. However, having said that it is still a fabulous story with the twists and turns. I'd like to see more stories about Marco and his grand parents. :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 July 2017
This is the sequel to Marco's Pendulum,loved that too.It's a new YA series by Phil Rickman,who writes the Merrily Watkins books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 28 July 2013
The normally sceptical Mr. Cotton reckons he has seen UFO's, the Mayor has been having strange visions, the odious Jasper has too but the strange thing is that these are the so called 'Glasties' and not the 'Pilgrims' like Wooly, Eleri, Diane, Sam and Marco. Why can't they see anything?

On a walk with her Father 'Big Dave' the new Curate, Rosa trips over something near the riverbank. It turns out to be an ancient sword. Of course the Glasties immediately assume it is Excalibur but is it?

Marco's would be Psychiatrist friend decides from Marco's emails that he must get to Glastonbury before Marco finally loses his marbles. He calls it Goldman's Syndrome! So he sets off to his Grandmothers house in Torquay and tells her is going to Glastonbury. The old lady is so excited that she decides to go along with him much to Josh's horror.

It is when Wooly starts acting like a Glastie that alarm bells begin to ring in the Watchers heads. What has happened to him, why is he now agreeing with the Glasties?

You'll just have to read this excellent sequel to Marco's Pendulum to find out.

I know these two books were written with children in mind but they still make good reading for adults.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2013
Just what you expect from a
consummate story teller
who brings will his players to life and is a master of serpentine plots.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2015
Some of Phil Rickman's books hide behind a sceptical shroud, they can be read as though the supernatural might be real or might be imaginary. This, and the earlier Glastonbury book 'Dark Chalice' depends upon these things being real, if uncontrollable. If you can make that suspension of disbelief then they are good books, though there is something lightweight about this one. This is not as gripping or dangerous as 'Crybbe', but what is?

I sort of liked it, even if I could not quite believe in it. But I don't get on well with juvenile protagonists, and there was too much of the freckle-faced kid about Marco for me. That may have annoyed me.

Several of Rickman's books lately seem to want to re-use characters and I don't think this works well. I suspect it was an idea of his editor or publisher. There is a reason they ain't authors.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here