Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
77
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 February 2016
Barbara Crampton is outstanding as Doctor Katherine Mc Michaels, at first showing adoring naivete, then gradually degenerating as Pretorius' invention addicts her. Barbara Crampton is amazing in the role. A perverted sense of sexuality drives these characters to extremes. Stuart Gordon always has a great sense of giving character's with real depth, investing them with harrowing psychological damage from the horrors they've witnessed. Great writing from Dennis Paoli, working wonders from H.P. Lovecraft's short story. Jeffrey Combs; Ken Foree and Ted Sorel are all excellent. Superb very gooey and slimy physical effects, which stand up today. Its a pity that Stuart Gordon doesn't make more movies. All the elusive trims are seamlessly included in this uncut, beautifully restored DVD. Also included in this excellent Second Sight and MGM disc you'll be spoiled by the wealth of extras! A commentary track, featurettes and interviews with production staff, including beautiful star Barbara Crampton.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2014
Perfect movie and uncut version ! I had doubt about the fact that this blu ray had the uncut version but I've just received the answer from Second sight : """" From: info@secondsightfilms.co.uk
Dear Geoffrey,
Our release is the uncut version. The Blu-ray runs at 86 mins, the DVD runs at 82 mins due to the frame rate difference of Pal video. Hope this helps.
Best,
Chris""""""" So enjoy the movie and the many extra's .
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2017
A very quirky, cult horror with plenty of gore and interesting ideas. I was a fan of the director's previous film (Re-Animator) and this has some similarities but overall not as fun. The bonus features are great though, with plenty of interviews and featurettes regarding the censorship the film had been subjected to previously (this blu ray is uncut fortunately).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2014
I have read most of Lovecraft's stories, being a bit of a fan of his works. I used to have this film on video and I was pleased to find it again on dvd and add it to my collection. I like Stuart Gordon's films and I enjoy anything Jeffrey Coombes is in. This looks a bit dated now, but I enjoyed watching it, discovering again things in it I had forgotten about.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2014
If you like horror films this is one if you not seen it i would recommend you have in your collection, though an oldie, it is a chiller wont spoil the details only to say the tale surounds the "BRAIN" more frightening than scary buy it and see!?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2017
Great quality product and arrived very quickly
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2016
Crystal clear with seamless lost workprint footage reintegrated
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2017
Top flick if you like practical effects you'll like this great fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2016
Excellent delivery time. Classic movie. Very high quality transfer to DVD.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2015
BRILLIANT !! unusual horror, great hd!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)