Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
57
4.6 out of 5 stars
A New England; The Very Best Of Kirsty Maccoll
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 25 March 2017
Have been a fan of Kirsty since her debut on the world stage. For those who wish to begin enjoying her music, this CD is highly recommended as an introduction.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2017
A ridiculously wonderful album, encompassing a whole range of styles, and each of them superb. This is a feel-good album, if you will. And good driving-to-work music for me; it's been in the car stereo since the day it arrived. "5.4" stars from me, rounded down to a "5" due to the confines of the grading system!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2016
Good quality sound which is what you need for me a good buy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2017
fits in with rest of her cds
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2014
fantastic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
#1 HALL OF FAMETOP 50 REVIEWERon 1 May 2013
This is a really good collection. Kirsty MacColl was a terrific songwriter and a great performer of her own and other people's material, and much of the best of her is collected here.

I think MacColl's greatest strength was her ability to produce a hugely enjoyable song which is often both lyrically and musically extremely witty but still conveys genuine, important emotions. There's A Guy Works Down the Chip Shop is the classic example (and remains one of my favourite pop records ever) but there's plenty else - in the excellent England 2, Colombia 0, for example - and, frankly, anyone who can write a song called Don't Come The Cowboy With Me, Sonny Jim (which is brilliant) deserves everyone's attention.

Her covers, too, show a real intensity, always leavened and somehow deepened by a twinkle in Kirsty's eye. Ray Davies's Days and Billy Bragg's A New England are both masterpieces, in my view, and others are very good indeed.

The remastering on this album seems very good to me, with excellent sound but the original feel of the tracks preserved. I suspect that if you're looking at this page then you're already a Kirsty MacColl fan and don't need any encouragement from me, but for what it's worth I warmly recommend this as a fine collection of great songs by a great writer and performer.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2013
This is the only Kirsty Macall CD I have, it was an impulse buy, but I really like it. It's a wonderful mix of genre, pace and mood. What a versatile talent she was. There is humour too and a vibrant cuban element with energetic trumpets. A fabulous mix to enjoy not only the music, but the clever witty lyrics too.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 30 December 2015
This excellent 2013 collection of the beautiful and talented Kirsty MacColl's best known songs does exactly what it says on the tin, it's a real 'Very Best Of'. With 21 tracks, each one sounding crystal clear, the budget label Union Square Music have done the late star proud.

All the obvious hits are here, including 'They Don't Know', an example of the perfect pop song, the humorous 'There's a Guy Works Down the Chip Shop Swears He's Elvis', her sweet delievery of Billy Bragg's 'A New England', her great cover of The Kinks' 'Days', and the tune which appears to be many a person's favourite Christmas song: 1987's 'Fairytale of New York', with The Pogues. These, and many other gems ripe for discovering here, give the listener a good taster of both her talents as a songwriter, and a fine interpreter of other musician's songs.

It's the music that matters, and here, the sheer versatility of style, and Kirsty's sweet delivery does merit an unreserved five stars. However, if you like to look and have a read of liner notes, there aren't any in the CD's booklet, merely the very basic song information for each track.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2013
Simply a Masterclass in how to put over a song. Some of the lyrics are pure magic especially "In these shoes?" and England 2 Columbia 0. What a great loss to music.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2016
Only familiar with 2 songs of this selection. Recording quality good (i.e. not quiet).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Kite
£14.89

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)