Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
87
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£9.49


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 May 2017
This guy made it the hard way. I've not finished the book yet but this is so interesting and you get an understanding of how hard he worked to become world champion. You don't even have to like motor racing to enjoy this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2017
Half way through this book & one of the best reads for a long time.
Covers in depth many relevant points through his life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2017
A good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Great book, well written learned about the man not just the driver
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2003
A thoroughly well-written account of the life and times of a man who brought pop-star fame to a sport previously seen as the domain of stoic gentlemen. The book goes into exceptional detail when looking back over James Hunt's career as a public-school eduacted loner who found himself the subject of mass adulation. The racing side of Hunt's colourful life is superbly dealt with, but I felt that some of the juicier details of the extra-curricular activities that also made Hunt such an interesting character are just alluded in a way that suggests that the author feels embarrassed, or that they could tarnish the image of the subject. To me, these extra stories would further enhance the reputation of a man who was a great racer, but above all one hell of a great lad!
This minor criticism however, should not dissuade any fan of Formula 1 from reading more about a fantastic character who lived through a time when racing was racing and drivers could be cavaliers on the track and off it.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2004
Since James Hunts' sudden and untimely death in June 1993 I held certain beliefs and opinions of him, his career and his relationships.
The author of the book, Gerald Donaldson, dispelled some of these opinions through his excellent work.
James will always be a personal hero for me, it was he and the Hesketh team who attracted me to F1 (in the exiting days), his talent was not lost in the commentary box with Murray Walker - he will never be replaced.
How can a man adored by so many live for so long without true love?
When he finally found a true love in Helen Dyson, he was taken from her and us.
Thankyou Gerald Donaldson for this work - truely an excellent and evoking read.
22 Comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2015
Donaldson, writer of the great Gilles Villeneuve biography, wrote another very good about the unfortunately relatively short life of British 1976 Formula One World Champion James Hunt.

There is talking, even today, that James would not have been World Cha,pion had Niki Lauda not suffered his terrible accident at the Nurburgring. Maybe so. Bu the fact was that he was there, battling even when the Ferrari won a lot of the first races of the season.

His deeds with the Hesketh team are now legendary His career as commentator along Murray Walker also was great.

Sadly, his heart caught up with him, and he died of a stroke in hishone, when he was already living more healthy.

Very good book, very good indeed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2005
Having also read the author's excellent biography of Gilles Villeneuve I was eager to get my hands on this book. Once again, I was not disappointed.
Donaldson attempts to explore all sides of Hunt's character through the different stages of his development, and succeeds in producing a well-written account of the legend's life. He achieves a good balance between the kind of factual reporting of the driver's career which is available elsewhere, and a probing insight into the complex nature of the man. It is the latter which will probably appeal more to most readers, and the author does a decent job of bringing together the many diverse recollections of those who were close to the subject.
If I have one criticism it is levelled at the publishers, who have left this edition littered with too many small and annoying printing errors. Don't let this put you off though: this book will appeal to anyone who enjoys a colourful story.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Gerald Donaldson having previously provided two of my favourite motor racing biographies, Fangio and Gilles Villeneuve, I eagerly anticipated his biography of James Hunt. I was not disappointed. This is a superb book and Gerald Donaldson is to be congratulated not just on the quality of his writing but also on the quality of his research. Having known James Hunt briefly, early on in his racing career, I was familiar with the details of his racing to which this book provided a valuable aide memoire. What I was less familiar with were the details of his childhood, personal life, and the years following his abandonment of his racing career. In all these areas Donaldson throws a very large light. This is a very informative biography.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2004
If you want to know the full truth about the life and times of James Hunt, this is the book to purchase. It goes into tremendous detail about all aspects of his life, without fear or favour. Well-written and comprehensive.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)