Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 May 2017
The final 20 minutes will leave you in awe, with one long take, in particular, representing how magnificent films can be, and how much they can say in perfect silence.

CHILDREN OF MEN is undoubtedly an accomplished film. Alfonso Cuarón directs, with Emmanuel Lubezki director of photography; and you can tell. The famous Oscar-winning cinematographer has also worked on The Revenant, Birdman, Gravity, and Ali. It is a beautifully shot film with incredible attention to detail which makes the action set pieces much more entertaining.

Clive Owen plays Theo who, enlisted by a group of activists, must help transport a miraculously pregnant woman to safety. Michael Caine plays a pot-smoking, left-leaning hippy who is part of this group. While at times CHILDREN OF MEN comes across as preachy, and will certainly grind your gears if you are right-leaning on the political spectrum, its unique story, deft cinematography, and wondrously imagined & detailed world will satisfy most people.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2017
I have to say this is amazing movie. It's got everything I could want in a film. It's got action, drama and even a little horror at times. It keeps you on your feet all the way through. In a world where humanity has lost hope it gives a sense of hopefulness. I would say it's a film everyone should see before they die. Don't take my word for it just get and watch!!'
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2017
This might be my new favourite film. Gritty, dystopian sci-fi at its best. Superbly shot by Alfonso Cuarón - look out for the long 'one shots' that take you into the action.

The blu-ray is superb. The visuals are impressive (some intentionally grainy) and the sound track is a good example of what 5.1 audio should be: effects like explosions make you jump but no dialogue is lost. .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2017
Futuristic drama set in UK after children are no longer being born due to some bug?. Then alnog comes a prgnant woman who is trying to escape aided by Clive Owens character. Riveting story that could come true
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2017
One long chase film, you admire the long takes and wonder how the director managed to get each shot done. The world is fully-realised and feels lived-in, it's not anything more than that, the chase story can be a bit repetitive but still great to watch
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
The film is a dystopian thriller where infertility has caused no births for about 18 years. The film was going good and I was really enjoying it. Then....the DVD stuck halfway through and we couldn't get to see the other half of the film. Bought it a couple of months ago so too late to send back unfortunately.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2017
My husband and I watched this one before and obviously forgot all about it. Good line of cast and an interesting idea but the filming is a little silly and seems amateurish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2017
Have watched a few times - great concept and Clive Owen is good in a few of the set pieces. Very dystopian but ultimately a little thin on the ground in terms of plot and content.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2017
Great film!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2017
brilliant film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse