Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
31
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 January 2013
This is a track to buy if you have seen the film and understand the complete misery which Anne Hathaway is trying to get across to the viewer. She is first and foremost an actress - not an opera singer - and in context I think she sings the track brilliantly. If you want the best musical or vocal rendition of this song, go elsewhere - but if you want the raw emotion expressed by someone in complete despair, it's right here.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2013
Many singers have performed this song in the past. Anne does not just sing it, she lives the song and the song is her life. The track crackles with raw emotion, though you will miss out if you have not seen the film and be able to picture Anne's Oscar-winning performance as you listen. It would be a definite 5 stars if only MP3s could offer the video experience too.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2013
The movie's version of "I Dream A Dream" does not in any way sound pretty, it's not meant to be. It may be poetic but considering the context this song is sung in, Anne Hathaway delivers the best version. She's in a pit and can't escape from the life she has ended up. She has lost hope and will soon lose her hope. This in context really doesn't work if its beautiful the conventional way. Hathaway sings her heart out here and the way it sings is excellent because it conveys the misery of the character. It's a passionate, desperate cry against the injustice of her life and what has brought her to this. One of the most popular songs of the movie, and one of the best.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2013
This has got to be the best version I have ever heard, you feel every word Anne sings. Absolute perfection.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2013
Absolutely fantastic - Anne Hathaway's rendition of this 'classic' is superb.
Hardly a dry eye in the audience whilst it was being sung.
Thoroughly recommend this for any music lover.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2015
Remember this is an actress singing, so if you want top notch singing look elsewhere. What you get is a portrayal with so much emotion it can bring you to tears. This is what we have been missing from the old musicals with the shameful Hollywood voice over practice. It's such a nice song that was overplayed during the height of su bo mania.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2013
It's quite different to other versions - but having seen the film Anne Hathaway gives one of her most outstanding performances with real feeling! The emotions come through.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2013
The ultimate performance of this song! Not worth any other artist attempting it.
Excellent reproduction and arrangement. Simple harp backing
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2013
Les Miserables has been one of my favourite musicals for many years, I have seen it on stage a few times, also have the Cd's from Colm Wilkinson and Michael Ball (my fav Marius)

This version by Anne Hathaway is what I would call a 'raw' version and not as polished but it definitely has feeling.
I've listened to it a few times and have grown to like it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2013
Loved the film, from beginning to end. I was not too sure when we entered the cinema, but we were totally convinced. This track is a poignant rendition, and I just love it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£0.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)