Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

  • Nexus
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 August 2015
This book presents a very plausible future history. Perhaps the technology will be different, but the national, political and social tensions depicted seem very realistic - the world in a few decades is very similar in some ways, but very different in others. It also offers a plausible alternative to the current public perception of the AI threat - it makes the case that superintelligence will come about intimately connected with human intelligence, rather than being created separate from us in a box full of wires (or quantum bits). That possibility offers the hope that an inhuman Skynet won't wipe us out, but also the fear that our superhuman children will do it instead.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2014
I picked up Ramez Naam's "Nexus" on a whim after an Amazon recommendation pointed me in its direction. I rarely post reviews about anything, but I think I need to make an exception in this case.

If you've an interest in well crafted techno-thrillers or the potential implications (both positive and negative) of transhumanism, you need to read this book.

Naam has penned several more academically focused examinations of transhumanism before, but his first foray into novel writing tackles many of the same topics even as it wraps you up in its convincingly fleshed out near-future world and plausibly motivated, (mostly) likable characters.

His descriptions of the mechanisms/effects of the titular empathogenic smart drug "Nexus" are genuinely fascinating, Naam's expertise in the field shining through with his considered examination of the benefits and potential pitfalls such a revolution in technology could bring.

It's a rare and excellent thing when a piece of fiction can inspire such soul searching in the reader. I've found myself pondering the issues tackled in its pages many times since I closed the book a week ago.

TL;DR: Nexus is an excellent book. You should probably read it. And then talk to me at considerable length about it, please.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 May 2013
This is sci-fi at it's best. The fact that this is the first fiction book by this author is amazing. He writes like he's been doing this stuff for years. The science is good, and the action is fast paced, believable and the characters are realistic and well thougth out.
The political and moral themes that run through the book are provocative and disturbing. A book that catches your imagination and makes you think of the ramifications of future developments. This is a must read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2015
Great book. Really quite exciting, and throws up some interesting ethical questions regarding the inevitable direction of some of our current technologies. Some of the writing seems quite influenced by action movie sequences, which is not really my style, and can come off a little 'cheesy' at times, but I'd still highly recommend to fans of science fiction.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2015
What a great book, ideas are flowing, there's ambiguity, there's hero's trying to do the right thing, there's supposedly good guys, there's supposedly bad guys. A great mix, already reading book 2 and it's continuing the story. I heartly recomend this series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2013
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It's got it all, crazy almost-possible technology, deep characters, tense and rapid action sequeuences. If you like cyberpunk fiction and discourse on the possibilities and risks of a post-human world, you can't go wrong here.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2013
Clever, bleak, near future science fiction. Well imagined, not too far fetched. Choc full of conspiracy, intrigue, science, action and a clear question mark over scientific ethics. Captivating read from cover to cover.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2014
Superb ideas and well written. Takes serious imagination and knowledge to write a piece like this in a way that is engrossing from the first chapter. Four stars simply because towards the end character development may have slightly given way to intense action and violence and I wasn't quite satisfied with the ending. Nevertheless brilliant read and food for thought
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2014
Believable characters, action that sucks you in and spits you out exhausted. Near future tech that combines minds and machines, scares governments, liberates people and empowers criminals, and an informed insight into how modern global power politics works. Both sides of complex conflicts, within and between characters, are presented in a credible fashion, giving the story depth and power.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2014
Its definitely a page turner and has a lot of the elements of early William Gibson books but I couldn't really connect to it (unintended pun). In part it was because the tech was silly and the main characters a bit drab and boring but I also didn't think it was really that well written. Its obviously done the job for other people though so I'm obviously in the minority.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here