Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
130
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 August 2017
Tracks, 7 and 8 are ace but Mantra is the most awesome tune on here. Lets be honest, any collaboration between the amazing Dave Grohl, the super talented Josh Homme and the genius that is Trent Reznor is destined to be fantastic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2014
I watched the BBC4 documentary about Sound City the other day and just had to get this CD. Absolutely brilliant. Proper music played by real musicians. I cant say that I knew everyone playing on this CD before I downloaded it but I love every track. If you can, watch the video. Is Paul McCartney playing a miniature 4-string guitar or some kind of electric banjo? Weird but great. This is head down, no nonsense, mindless boogie at its best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2015
Not sure
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
A remarkable collection of new material from some very famous names makes a fantastic accompaniment to the very remarkable documentary that Dave Grohl has directed about the studio in the San Fernando Valley that produced some of the most original and influential music over the last 40 years.

Stand out track has to be the collaboration with Stevie Nicks: 'You Can't Fix This' - this is a thrilling, dark, tormented tribute to the death of Nicks' godson to a heroin overdose and just grows and grows in its ominous intensity for 6 wonderful minutes. This recalls Nicks at her 'Gold Dust Woman' best, and the brilliant collaboration with Grohl and co just screams out for 'more!'. It sounds even more impressively intense live too - check out You tube for some top notch recent clips.

Another destined to be classic cut is 'Mantra', whilst the McCartney effort is amongst his best for a while, and even Rick Springfield shows there's some life in the old dog yet.

Highly recommended, and destined to be a classic!
11 Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2016
Came with only 1 of the 2 records. Sent it back for a refund but the price had gone up when I went to re order.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2013
Most of the artists on this album are from before my time but every song is amazing. Pure quality hard rock music. It is also very diverse and has a variety of performers all of which are well respected in the music industry. A good all round record.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2014
ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2014
I bought this after seeing the film.

The vinyl quality is good and noticeably denser than most standard production LP's, with no pops and cracks that made CD's such an attraction when they appeared beside vinyl in the early 80's. One LP had a slight vertical wobble but this did not affect the playing quality.The only iffy bit was the shrink wrap that possibly contributed to the wobbly vinyl. The Lp;s come in plastic lined paper sleeves with additional card inner liners. The outer cover is made from good quality card, but the combination of paper sleeves, thicker vinyl and thick card outer makes for a snug fit for the contents.

The sound quality is good but one or two of the mixes are not as clear as I felt they should be ("Heaven And All" seems to have little clarity between instruments compared to tracks of a similar pace and BMRC are usually pretty good at this on their own work). The Stevie Nicks track "You Can't Fix This" is positively smokin'! There are no bad tracks on the LP and given the variety of musicians playing, it comes out as better than could be expected. Enjoy at high volume!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2014
after watching the accompanying bbc3 (?) documentary, which was interesting, i was disappointed by the music on the CD. too much stale rock.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2013
I loved Grohl's film, and you can't see the film without wanting this album. Equally if you enjoy this album it's a damn good idea to see the film of the journey to its creation. Unexpected collaborations with quality results.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)