Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
142
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£17.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 May 2017
very quick very pleased thank yuo will tell friends and family
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2017
Great item, as described would recommend !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2014
Usual good delivery from Amazon ... The clone wars series are very entertaining and always looking to improve the visuals and technologies which is what we have come to expect from anything Lucasfilm create
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2017
My grandson loves this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2014
Any children who loves Star Wars and it's raining, to save on cabin fever this is good day filler... Well... It is...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 18 June 2016
This is the fifth (and final main) season of "Star Wars: Clone Wars" on Blu-ray. It consists of 2 discs and presents 20 episodes that were originally aired in 2012-13. The series tells the story of what happens between the live-action Star Wars films "Attack of the Clones" and "Revenge of the Sith" - as the Republic battles against the Separatists in an effort to restore peace to the divided galaxy. This is a CGI animated series, intended for both children and adults. The audio and picture quality are superb - and I fully recommend watching this show in HD.

Many of the main characters from the films appear in the show - such as Obi-Wan Kenobi, Mace Windu, Padmé Amidala, Count Dooku, General Grievous, and Yoda. Throughout, the adventure focuses on action - on battles between the opposing sides, and specifically on conflicts between the clone troopers and the droid armies. For the most part, the story concerns Anakin Skywalker and his young apprentice Ahsoka Tano engaged in missions to defend both the Jedi Order and the Republic. Much of this fifth season revolves around Ahsoka, for whom 3 four-part story-arcs are dedicated. The rest of the season explores the Separatists gaining more ground ... and the story of Darth Maul concludes in spectacular fashion. Overall, the animation works brilliantly, and the voice-acting is excellent. It's a highly entertaining show - and a lot of fun.

The episodes included are: "Revival"; "A War on Two Fronts"; "Front Runners"; "The Soft War"; "Tipping Points"; "The Gathering"; "A Test of Strength"; "Bound for Rescue"; "A Necessary Bond"; "Secret Weapons"; "A Sunny Day in the Void"; "Missing in Action"; "Point of No Return"; "Eminence"; "Shades of Reason"; "The Lawless"; "Sabotage"; "The Jedi Who Knew Too Much"; "To Catch a Jedi"; and "The Wrong Jedi".
review image review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 October 2014
THE STORY:
20 BBY. There are five main story arcs among the 20 episodes of this series. 1) The Jedi aid resistance fighters on the planet Onderon. 2) A group of Jedi younglings build their lightsabers and undertake their first mission. 3) R2-D2 joins an elite team of droids on a special mission. 4) The resurrected Darth Maul makes his play for power by taking control of the galactic underworld. 5) Ahsoka Tano finds herself a fugitive who has to prove her innocence when she's accused of murder and treason.

WHAT'S GOOD:
This season has the best story arc of any Clone Wars series so far, the Darth Maul eipisodes. I loved how Maul and his brother, Savage Opress, set out to unite the criminal underworld to create a galactic faction to rival both the Republic and the Confederacy. It shows Maul as not just a brutal and vicious killer but also a plotter and schemer worthy of the title Dark Lord of the Sith. Here we get to see his final confrontation with Obi-Wan in which, slightly surprisingly, he truly does finally get his revenge. However, all this doesn't go unnoticed by the true master of the dark side, who is not happy to have a rival. As well as these episode are the ones (all inspired by the work of Alfred Hitchcock) about Ahsoka's efforts to clear her name. There's a dark and gritty tone to them that The Clone Wars sometimes lacks and the conclusion has an emotional resonance that was both welcome and surprising.

WHAT'S BAD:
The other three story arcs are less strong. The Onderon episodes are just unremarkable but the ones with the young Jedi and the droids range from childish to ludicrous (particularly the droid episodes!). Don't get me wrong, they're not all bad, but they just can't compare to the quality of the Darth Maul and Ahsoka arcs. There are two other specific bad elements to these episodes, both of which are sort of to be expected but which still affect the viewing experience. The first is the fact that I just can't stand the character of Hondo Ohnaka and I'm baffled as to why the makers of this series are so fond of him and keen to give him air time. He's not funny, clever or threatening in any way. He's like that uncle that thinks he's tough and funny but who the whole family secretly pities. The final problem is that Ian Abercrombie died during the production of this series and his replacement as the voice of Palpatine/Sidious just doesn't do as good a job. A bit of tragic mis-casting for the otherwise legendary Tim Curry.

OVERALL:
Like so much of The Clone Wars, this is a mixed bag, but the good in here is so good as to completely outweigh the bad.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2013
I loved this season of Clone Wars. All the elements that make Star Wars great are there. Yes there were small mistakes but even those I could over look I though every episode so this season was great, I even like the Droids ark I felt this really gave R2 the spotlight he deserves. The only niggle thing is that they did go from ark to ark, there were not any standalone episodes, but even that can be forgiven.

One thing that is a theme during the Clone Wars in general is the bond between soldiers, I know the clones call each other but it was great to see this in other characters as well. This is most evident in the first story ark. The planet Oderon's king has been dethroned, and the new king has signed with the Separatists. Cause of this official leader has made this decision the Republic has no say in this matter, so a Jedi send in Obi Wan, Anakin, Ahsoka, and Rex to train the rebel forces in how to fight the droids. After the training Ahsoka is left behind to "observe the experiment". Now we see the changing positions of the different characters from conscience to leader, political activates to soldier, and many more. We also see sublet changes in Ahsoka. Her personal feelings are interfering with her mission and causing some tension with another member of the group. Then we see micro cracks in her resolve to Jedi methodology as she cannot watch her comrades get massacred. Great arc most important are the subtle differences for later.

The youngling's ark. A group of young Jedi have to first find their crystals then construct their Lightsabers. Just finding their crystals is difficult enough they need to face their own personal fears trust their instincts and overcome their own characters faults. Then the construction should be simple after this right? Not when you are attacked by pirates. The Younglings must then save their handler Padwan Ahsoka from the pirates. Of course now Count Dooku, decided to settle the score for his capture and treatment from the pirates, not they must all work together against a common enemy.

The Droid ark, the one thing I will say is I was really glad C3P0 was not in this ark, I think his comedy would have taken away from the story. R2 and some other Droids are given a secret mission to sneak in the Separatists space, and steal an encryption chip to decode a captured transmission of an imminent attack. Leading the party is Coronel Gascon. A desktop general with no field experience and huge Napoléon complex. Naturally the team members look to R2 for tactics and inspiration. During the ark Gascon learn the bond of combat, loyalty, respect and sacrifice.

The Darth Maul ark. What can I say this I the part of the season I was looking forward to the most, and it did not disappoint. Great fight scenes, some of the best Lightsaber action ever. Also it was a rare treat to see Darth Sidious in action. Apart from a couple of seconds where he decapitated 4 Jedi masters then fought Yoda to a standstill, he is not really known for his Lightsaber work. I liked the fact that there was more technique as well to the fights. Then you have the Mandalorians added to the mix. This just makes the action scenes go nuclear. Great action packed stories.

The trial of Ahsoka. An insider attack on the Jedi temple has left everyone suspicious, epically the Jedi council. Anakin and Ahsoka are brought in to investigate. During the course of the investigation more and more evidence is planted to frame Ahsoka, it is pretty obvious who the fallen Jedi is to the viewers, the story line is more about the fracturing relationship between Ahsoka, Anakin and the Jedi council. I also noticed the change in Anakin's fighting style, more in turn with the dark side.

I thought this was a great season. I loved it and would watch it again and again. Yes some stories were stronger than other, but that is always the case. I heard this would be the last season. That would be a great shame. I would love to have a more definitive lead into Revenge of the Sith. Over all a great season. I would like one more just to tie up the loose ends. Please :-(
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2014
I bought this disc for a present and by the time I got to use it it was past the return date. The disc did not load and now I am left unable to claim my money back or a replacement. Seems like I am not the only one this has happened to. This seller should not be allowed to sell on Amazon.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2014
Intending to buy Seasons 1 to 3 at somepoint.
All throughly enjoyable, well written and entertaining. Have read there will possibly be a Season 6, but since the House of Mouse brought out George Lucas, Star Wars: Rebels will be coming to our screen's later this year..
Only slight gripe is the difference in the packaging for Season 5 (compared to Season 4). Nice presentation box cover, but rather then the individual disc holders for the Season 4 box, this had the disc tags on the outer case, which one was snapped and the spine is cracked half way up (photo to follow). Otherwise, no other complaints!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse