Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
18


on 7 December 2015
Covers a subject most people are happy to ignore, which means the politicians and councillors are left to do almost anything they like until local residents realise the kind of horrors they are being exposed to.

We need to wake up and grow up as a society and this presentation does much to highlight some of the need where consumerism and waste is concerned.

What's needed though is for more answers, and for everyone to wake up and take respsonsibility, ultimately we can force the manufacturers to clean up their acts and stop forcing so much waste onto this currently sleeping society. Action is needed at local, national and international level for things to change and perhaps then we can finally evolve past being wasteful consumer monkeys!

Full marks to Jeremy for raising the issues.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 September 2014
This should be compulsory viewing for everyone - the way we live in our culture would be fine if we had 3 planets, but we don't and we need to start taking more care of the earth. This is an inspirational look at the way we manage our rubbish, or the way we aren't managing it mostly. Fascinating to watch, well made and scary too... scary about where we are currently heading that is. But it gives pointers for hope... and some great examples of how it can be done better.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 May 2013
This film is a true travelogue of the global issue of dealing with too much trash created by a throwaway society. It's too long and takes a while to settle into its story but the on-camera narrator and host Jeremy Irons does a good job of pulling the viewer in. The production values are very good and provide a variety of global perspectives on the issue.
I do wish it were a bit shorter and more suitable for all ages as I would like to see this shown in schools. Community screenings with local panels would be good too and both would benefit from a shorter version.
I recommend this film to anyone who is concerned about waste. Our current system is not holding manufacturers accountable for the 'end of life' of their products and this film is a good illustration of why it's an unsustainable model.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 July 2013
This documentary film tackles a major issue and it's hard to make it compelling viewing for those not prepared to be educated. For those that are, this get's some of the points over with well chosen but sometimes disturbing footage while the narration by Jeremy Irons is in the main humourless but plain speaking.
I would challenge any supermarket boss to watch this and not feel ashamed and I would challenge any consumer not to harden their attitude to packaging after watching this.
Credit to Amazon for getting the DVD out in a presentable but ultimately biodegradable cardboard packet. I just hope that represents adoption of the values endorsed by this film and not a one-off nod to the subject.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 July 2013
This is a must see film. If you have any concern for our planet you should see this film, and if you don't care about the environment you really must watch it at all costs!
No politician should be able to say they have not watched it, start to finish at least once.
It is a shocking report
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 May 2013
This is a beautiful, if worrying, film about what human beings are doing to the Earth. I bought this mainly for the Vangelis music and I wasn't disappointed, but the overal package is good too, down to the environmentally-friendly packaging.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 July 2013
A must must must have DVD. This is one that should be advertised more. We should all be much more aware of our planet.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 June 2013
What a tragic mess we are making of our planet. It should be mandatory that everyone see what we are doing. Well presented by Jeremy Irons.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 June 2013
Jeremy Irons' film tells the truth about our plastic rubbish, even though we'd rather bury our head in the sand!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 July 2013
Powerful thought provoking and worrying. Not sure that we learn too much about how we can make a difference which is a pity. We needed a call to action.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)