Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Moana - Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now



on 22 November 2017
Great value
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 March 2017
thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 October 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 July 2015
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 April 2013
Fans of CJ Box's hero Joe Pickett will love this book. Joe is the kind of guy everyone wants in their neighbourhood. I particularly like the way Box brings back old character and interacts them in a new story. Can't wait for next installment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 June 2017
I would give this 5 stars
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 March 2013
I love, love, love the landscape in these books. I just don't think there is a more unique setting for a thriller series than this lost world of vast plains, lush meadows and endless forest, with the towering mountains looming on all sides! it's vast and strangely claustrophobic at the same time - awesome, with the emphasis on the awe. But, if being able to convey that weren't enough, Mr Box goes even further. The twists and turns just keep you ripping through hte pages, desperate to finish but terrified to continue. I just can't recommend this highly enough. Please keep writing!
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 March 2013
"Breaking Point" is recognizably a C.J. Box work for mostly good reasons. Steadfast protagonist Joe Pickett is front and center through most of the book. The evocation of the Wyoming wilderness and the struggles of mere humans to survive in it, are matchless. And further along that track, one of author Box's classic chase/escape vignettes carries the book to its climax. Regular readers of the Joe Pickett series will rejoice in the splashy removal of one of the admirable fish and game warden's perennial enemies--justice served at last.

What I liked less about "Breaking Point" was the misfire of the author's usual attempt to balance perspectives on issues like the use/preservation of the Western wilderness, gun ownership and use, etc. In this book, which is clearly inspired by a real case of apparent government regulatory abuse, the author takes a very wide swing at all Federal government employees as well as the regulations that they enforce. In my opinion, he goes way overboard on this question. There are too many straw men at work here. And at the same time, Box seems to forget that most of us ordinary citizens' beefs in the U.S. are with local authorities--like Fish and Game Wardens, local cops, meter maids, EMT services, corrupt city council members, etc. To be fair, Box does include a sub-story about a gun fanatic who represents the population segment that believes "that you can never own too many guns". But even with this inclusion, I didn't see any useful addition to the discussion on Second Amendments rights vs. reasonable control to ensure that psychopaths can't get guns.

When all is said and done, C.J. Box (and Joe Pickett) are at their best when on the trail and in service of Wyoming wildlife and the wilderness. The more there is of that kind of action and the less there is of general demonizing of government, the better the books are. Meanwhile, I remain a real fan of this writer and his series and look forward to the next book.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 March 2013
Another scorchingly good read from C.J. Box. I discovered this series a few years ago with FREE FIRE and haven't looked back since. Strong characters, real dilemmas and great settings. I think this highly original crime series is one of the best around.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 July 2015
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse