Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 11 June 2017
Poor sound
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 June 2017
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 March 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 20 March 2013
This fabulous set, at a bargain price by
Billy Eckstine contains
Seven Classic Albums and as a bonus three singles.
But Amazon have not (at the time of writing) given a list of the actual classic albums nor the track listings. So I have provided one.
There are 7 albums spread over 4 CDs and those three bonus singles too.

All the albums been digitally remastered and enhanced for superior quality and the Real Gone Jazz label has garnered some really good reviews for sound quality.
The digitally enhanced sound is a good indicator but for a proper review I really suggest you read other, more knowledgeable people's reviews .

The albums are
"Billy's Best (1958)",
"Imagination (1958)",
"Basie And Eckstine, Inc (1959)",
"No Cover, No Minimum (1960)",
"Once More With Feeling (1960)",
"At Basin St. East (1961)" and
"Sarah Vaughan And Billy Eckstine Sing The Best Of Irving Berlin (1957)".

|The tracks ans the split over the 4 CDs is

[Disc 1]
Billy's Best
1. The Boulevard Of Broken Dreams 3.04
2. Stella By Starlight 2.47
3. When The Sun Comes Out 3.43
4. I Got Lost In His Arms 2.59
5. Nobody's Heart (Belongs To Me) 3.03
6. Where Have You Been? 2.58
7. Babalu 3.00
8. You Don't Know What Love Is 3.18
9. A Sunday Kind Of Love 3.19
10. Trust In Me 2.51
11. That Ole Devil Called Love 2.46
12. Zing! Went The Strings Of My Heart 4.02
Imagination
13. It Was So Beautiful 2.05
14. I Got Right To Sing The Blues 3.13
15. Love Is Just Around The Corner 3.14
16. I Don't Stand A Ghost Of A Chance With You 3.45
17. A Faded Summer Love 3.14
18. What A Little Moonlight Can Do 3.19
19. Imagination 4.05
20. Lullaby Of The Leaves 2.45
21. I Cover The Waterfront 4.08
22. I Wished On The Moon 2.50
23. That's All 4.38

[Disc 2]
Basie And Eckstine, Inc
1. Stormy Monday Blues 3.10
2. Lonesome Lover Blues 3.08
3. Blues, The Mother Of Sin 3.40
4. Jelly, Jelly 3.02
5. Don't Cry Baby 3.33
6. Trav'lin All Alone 2.54
7. Little Mama 3.29
8. I Want A Little Girl 3.25
9. Drifting 3.59
10. Song Of The Wanderer 3.22
11. Piano Man 4.05
No Cover, No Minimum
12. Have A Song On Me 1.07
13. I've Grown Accustomed To Her Face 2.27
14. Lady Luck 3.03
15. Lush Life 4.05
16. Without A Song 2.18
17. Moonlight In Vermont 2.56
18. Deed I Do 2.21
19. It Might As Well Be Spring 2.45
20. That's For Me 2.25
21. You'll Never Walk Alone 3.21
22. Misty 5.05

[Disc 3]
Once More With Feeling
1. Once More With Feeling 3.00
2. Stormy Weather 3.54
3. A Cottage For Sale 3.24
4. Blues In The Night 3.06
5. I Hear A Rhapsody 2.35
6. As Time Goes By 3.21
7. That Old Black Magic 3.16
8. I Apologize 3.17
9. I Love You 2.37
10. With Every Breath I Take 3.20
11. Secret Love 3.17
12. I'm Beginning To See The Light 2.34
At Basin St. East
13. Alright, Okay, You Win 2.46
14. Medley - I'm Falling For You/Fool That I Am/Everything I Have Is Yours 8.00
15. In The Still Of The Night/Band Chaser 3.48
16. Duke Ellington Medley - Announcement/I Don't Get Around Much Anymore/I'm Just A Lucky So And So 10.37
17. Work Song 3.58
18. Ma (She's Making Eyes At Me) 2.44

[Disc 4]
Sarah Vaughan And Billy Eckstine Sing The Best Of Irving Berlin
1. Alexander's Ragtime Band 4.00
2. Isn't This A Lovely Day 3.51
3. I've Got My Love To Keep Me Warm 4.12
4. All Of My Life 3.14
5. Cheek To Cheek 2.44
6. You're Just In Love 3.42
7. Remember 2.20
8. Always 2.36
9. Easter Parade 3.13
10. The Girl That I Marry 2.58
11. Now It Can Be Told 3.41
Bonus Tracks
12. Gigi 2.32
13. Anything You Wanna Do (I Wanna Do With You) 2.24
14. Like Wow 2.10
15. Glenn and Me 3.33
22 Comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 January 2014
Thank you for re-issuing these L.P.`s of Billy Eckstine, they will be a welcome addition to my collection. As a band leader and solo performer he was one of the best. I look forward to any future issues. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 22 March 2013
The sound quality throughout is excellent. The 4CDs contain the 7 albums and a few singles. This is a late 1950s and early 1960s musical feast. I do not know where you could get such excellent value and sound combined with albums you have wanted on CD. All of these recordings are public domain items hence their inclusion. Attractive front sleeve. My favourite is the album No Cover, No Minimum simply because the atmosphere created is superb.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 January 2014
This is a really good selection of the songs of this great singer, well worth buying if this is your type of music
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 January 2014
I bought this as a gift for a family friend. He was so impressed that he recommended it to my mum so I've ordered it for her too.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 December 2014
The Classic Albums series is a mixed bunch with many tracks not matching the track lists and the quality of the transfers being variable. This collection is just stunning. Mr B had a special voice and worked as first choice soloist with many great musicians. It is the first time I have heard a collection of his work and that has been my loss. What an instrument!
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 July 2016
I am a fan so this was brill for me...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)