Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
63
4.4 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 May 2017
I like most of Christopher Nuttall's books and this is no exception.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2015
Christopher Nuttall keeps on blowing me away with some of the best possible space opera writing out there can't wait to carry on with the empire corps and see where it goes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2017
Well thought out series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2017
Good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2014
I am very pleased to have found this series. Although Sci-fi arcs are often a rehash of cliches, this flavour is palatable.
If you are looking for a big read (Peter Hamilton big), then this is a good series.
It is good to have a lot to read, characters to follow and develop. This is pulp sci-fi that I want, and I have purchased the whole series.
The author does bang on about some cliches again and again, such as politicians know nothing and are corrupt while salt of the earth non-coms are the answer to the galaxies problems, Stockholm Syndrome ad-nauseum, Marines check and recheck their equipment, they train hard to make the mission easier, blah blah. We get it, it doesn't have to be repeated all the time.
My favourite Space Opera since the Gap Series, and is not fizzling out like the Harrington pulp machine.
Well done, write more, and take my money.
You have a fan.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is the second in the series of Empire's Corps and an improvement generally. The first one was good but perhaps a little bit black and white. This adds a bit of nuance that helps the overall story and makes it far more readable. It's still straight forward military action, but the characters have been better fleshed out and the backstory has more depth.

Essentially Avalon has now been abandoned by Earth to it's own devices. This has allowed a government to form and the fledgling amalgamation of worlds to create a commonwealth. Of course this also allows pirates to proliferate and various factions to start to maneuver for political and financial gain. In this story the marines are called upon to tackle the threat from a nascent pirate/military fleet which seems to be determined to create a new empire in a rather unpleasant way.

There's plenty of action, definitely adult themes with regard to the treatment of women by the bad guys and the start of a story that presumably will grow as the series progresses.

Nuttall has again demonstrated that he can write well and this is a decent taut and enjoyable book of this genre. Well recommended if you like this type of story.

One word of caution. There is sex involved albeit not graphically, however for young people this might be the kind of thing they read.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2014
The Marines are cut off from Earth with no hope of support, resupply or replacements. Avalon is next in line for conquest by the mysterious Admiral, an augmented man who is attempting to vanquish a group of star systems and form his own empire. There is nothing to prevent him and his murderous pirate crews from invading Avalon except for the Marines and a couple of old and underpowered space ships.

"No Worse Enemy" follows two main strands. Molly has been captured by the pirates and finds herself forced to become a sex slave and engineer on the Admiral's own ship. How will she even survive when most of the sex slaves end up cowed into submission or dead? the Sword. The Marines manage to find one of the Admiral's support bases but are even their abilities up to taking it intact?

This is an excellent and highly recommended sequel, very gritty, at times violent, and a real page-turner. "The Empire's Corps" seems to be developing into a compelling series and is essential reading if you are into military sf.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
Continuing the story of The Empire's Corps, Colonel Stalker has to fight off a pirate, who calls himself the Admiral, who has ambitions to become the emperor of the sector which Avalon is part of.

The story is a good follow up to the previous book, and there is a great deal of strategy and action. We are introduced to the RockRats, a sub species of humans who are adapted for virtual zero gravity life, mining asteroids.

There are some niggles though. I think the author's favourite word is 'scowled', as it turns up an awful lot, particularly with Colonel Stalker. As for Stalker, he is often referred to by his previous rank of Captain for some reason. I don't know if the author was trying to use this as a tool to remind us that Stalker might be a colonel in his head, but a captain at heart, but it was somewhat confusing. There were also a number of grammatical mistakes, e.g., 'through' instead of 'though', which just comes down to a lack of proof reading.

However, the story is good, and it is well worth a read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2013
This is the second book Christopher Nuttall has released in his Empire series and i sincerely hope there are many more to follow.It carries on from The Empires Corps very well and is not simply just a clone of the first book. It is massively different and sets the stage for much more. Again the characters are strong and the underlying politics involved makes it great reading. I was pleasantly surprised that a lot of the action centres around a previously minor character who has been developed massively. It is very cleverly written and makes the reader think hard about various moral dilemas (particularly subjects like Stockholm syndrome) and the state of our real world societies and their seeming decline and social breakdown. It is not without humour as there are several comic relief characters such as Blake who break up the otherwise bleak and desperate setting. The author makes you cheer the good guys and curse the bad ones. A good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2013
Having read the first two books, I waned to know more of the Empires Marines. While this is a side story to the other themes, it looks to parrllel events on earth, which will in turn influence the story, hopefully the characters will come back in to the main theme. Full of pace and excitement, it follows events on earth to the end of the Empire.

This is a great stroy theme that I can't wait to see continued. It sits well with the 'Union Series' by Phillip Richard and 'Man of War' series by Paul Honsinger and Harvey Phillips. For all out believable Sci Fi actions these writers form a superb trilogy (in the best Tradtion of 'Hitchhiker....', in four parts!) for modern Scvi |Fi writer, the only problem is how long to wait for the next boojk from any of them. - I suspect they are a lot faster read than they are to write!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse