Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
71
4.8 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 March 2017
A brilliant personal account of the defeat of 2 Japanese armies which played a major part in WW2.
How the UK's relationship with Indians was key, and that this was a vital victory over Fascist Militaristic Oppression we should not forget.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
Great book can be hard to find.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2015
Beautifully written, educational, any lay person could understand the dilemmas of the war in Burma, WW2 from his narrative.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2016
Well pleased with the item and service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2014
Slim was the most under rated soldier of his time always living in the shadows of Montgomery and Eisenhower. It would have been a privilage for me to work for him.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2017
Amazing story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2001
As a serving soldier this is a truly inspiring book. If there is anybody that wants to know about leadership then this is the book for you.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2015
Anyone with an interest in military history (of any period) should read this book. The story of the 14th Army is a magnificent one of recovery and ultimate triumph. Slim comes across as a modest, thoughtful and compassionate commander, but still one who was able to drive his army to succeed against what must have been one of the most senselessly brave and ruthless armies the world has seen. A refreshing change from the self-serving memoirs of many generals, Slim is quite prepared to admit his mistakes as well as giving his recipes for success. Many of those recipes would be useful in many other walks of life.

David
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2012
This book is, as far as I know, unique. It is hard to obtain now too. William Slim, the General who directed the course of the war in Burma, to drive out the Japanese, tells the story of his men as his own personal tribute to their efforts, their achievements and their sacrifice.
His fighting soldiers held him in high regard and yet, in this book, he is personally most modest and any stories he tells about his own role in the conflict are self-deprecating and humorous, in the best British style.
This book really brought home to me how brutal, unrelenting and arduous was the war fought by the soldiers in Burma; and how much appreciation is owed to these men, some of whom are still alive.
If I had read this book forty years ago (and I regret not doing so) I would have lived a better-informed life.
Thank goodness Slim put all this down on paper, as a lasting tribute to his men.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)