Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



VINE VOICEon 7 May 2015
This is a very good, one might even say, essential add-on to the Sony action cam, in my case the AS 100 VR. Unless you have the Live View wrist add-on, you have no way of knowing what you are filming, and if you are using this as a "standard" camera, this is pretty essential. It works well and is very simple to use, but there are a couple of gripes.
First, you do have to slightly damage the camera to fit it: breaking off the two lids that cover the access ports on the underside of the camera. As another reviewer has noted, in the case of the AS 100, this has to be done with both access ports, although none of the manuals or help describe this; thank you to them for making this clear, but Sony should be doing that.
Second, there is no way to fit an external microphone whilst in this add-on, so you are stuck with the mic on the camera. Again, if you are using it as an action cam this is probably of no concern, and in any event it is not a bad mic, but it does limit the camera outside of those circumstances.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2014
This is a replacement for one that got wet in the rain and stopped working. Note: DON'T GET THIS WET!!!! - AT ALL. I enjoyed the original one for ages until I used it in a little rain (and it was only a bit) and it immediately stopped working. Drying out still didn't fix it so - I had to buy another as it's so useful. Only 4 stars as this thing is overpriced for what it is.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2015
had to buy this to go with the camcorder
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2013
Great bit of kit for the hdras15 as a add on only thing it's a bit of a pain having to open the bottom plastic flap at the bottom of the camcorder to attach the camcorder to the hand grip. Also there is no zoom system on the camcorder you get what you see. Saying that would I buy it again yes I would its great to play back files
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2014
Initially I couldn't get my AS100V to fit inside the holder. Thanks to other reviewers, I discovered you have to open both flaps on the bottom of the Action Cam to get it to fit. Unfortunately, neither Sony's website, the User Guide, nor Amazon specify that you must do this. Therefore you are left thinking that this model isn't compatible, when it is.

This holder is a great add-on that helps make the Action Cam much more user friendly when filming.

Thanks to the other reviewers for pointing me in the right direction. ;)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2014
Very nice item, works really well with the camera turning it into a usable handycam. Seller was also very fast at shipping. Overall really nice quality item.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2014
Does what it says, what else can we say!

the price is OK'ish, it has a good build quality and doesn't drain the battery down quickly. I bought this as a gift for my friend's AS15 and she used it to record her dance classes. It just turned an action cam into a steady handy cam.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2016
This handheld add on to the Sony action cam is a must have if you want to see what you are filming. I use it for my AS200VR and it is brilliant for walking around a city or town to make sure you get the right shot. Nothing is worse than going out for the day, going back and realising that your video didn't quite get everything that you wanted. This lets you do that with ease. The screen rotates all the way round so you can point the camera for a 'selfie' view and know that you are getting the perfect shot. Also there is a thread underneath to fir tripods and mounts. The screen also has playback to you can rewatch what you have filmed which is a nice added extra.

Overall i think this is a must buy, it has a nice retro feel to it and lets you see all that the camera is filming
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2016
A very useful addition to my AS30V camera. It is now far more usable than just for skiing holidays on my crash helmet. I found it very easy to mount the camera in the holder, but I had seen a video demo on YouTube. It took about 30 seconds to see the picture on the screen, so no hassle. It arrived within 24 hours (Prime). Sony have a good site for checking which accessories fit specific cameras. Amazon price was the cheapest I'd found, including delivery. Well pleased.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2015
Product works well on Sony Sports Cam, turning it into a conventional camcorder.
Downside is that you have to break the connections between the underneath doors to fit into the housing.
Not a deal breaker but I will probably lose the little plastic doors.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)