Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 17 August 2013
At last Adobe has some real competition!

For 2D digital illustrators, this has to be the best software available and at a great price!

Comics and, possibly, story-book artists will find the cost of the EX version well worth it, the story and page management tools are a massive time-saver.

As for those who work on single images, the basic "pro" version has 90% of the tools of the EX version and is a third of the price.

At first you might feel overwhelmed by the range of tools and options this program offers, but it was designed so that each user can pick and choose what tools they need and tweak them, and the interface, to near perfection.

Just start off with the basic default tools and then as you get a feel for them you will know better how you want to tweak them for your working style.

The program actually feels very similar to Photoshop, but, in my opinion is vastly superior.

Try out the basic version for £45 quid and, if you need the story tools, I guarantee that you will be happy to pay the extra £100 for the upgrade to the EX version.
33 Comments| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2016
I am a graphic designer and illustrator and recently purchased the Ugee 2150 graphics monitor for drawing & painting directly on screen. Setting up Manga Studio 5 was straight forward and with no issues at all.
Where Adobe Illustrator and Photoshop are best for more precise work and effects, Manga Studio is perfect for quick sketches and conceptualizing. Manga Studio's brushes, pens and pencil tools have a natural and intuitive feel and inking gives you better freehand results compared to Photoshop.
I still prefer painting and finalizing my work in Photoshop, but I've already found Manga Studio is a lot more free and fun for those initial phases of design. I have even stopped using sketchbook pro on my tablet since I got Manga Studio and that says a lot. At such a low price, Manga Studio definitely gives you a lot of bang for your buck and highly recommended for any sketch or ink artists out there.
review image
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2014
A year or so ago, I had the free trial version of Corel painter 12, the all-singing, all dancing artwork program to beat them all. The downside was it was only useable for a month, then cost £230 to activate. Recently I wanted to get back into digital art, and found this. £35. Not bad. For the relative cheapness, I was expecting something fairly basic.
Wrong.
This is one of the best art packages I've come across, from the various brushes (customisable), the incredibly useful 3D pose-able figures and objects, the pen & paint settings (the watercolours act like ... well ... watercolours!) and the response of the penflow (real time, no spinning circles as the laptop tries to keep up with you) all are without fault.
The initial downside for the novice is the "customisable" tool bars, which you can drag & drop to your preference. Or, if you're not careful, delete altogether without realizing it and have to reset the whole program. The other downside are the instructions. 132 pages (pdf downloads) for the "get started" instructions. The user manual is over 700 pages. And although you can just practice and dive straight in, again there is the very real chance of changing settings or losing tools without actually knowing what you've done. The video support on the Manga Studio website is much easier to follow, and quite fun to watch. But once you're used to the controls, I find it hard to fault.
This is a pro-grade art program, and you get so much for your money I can't recommend it enough. The only long-term downside is more down to the type of pc you should use for it rather than the program itself. Obviously made for touch-screen pc or laptop, it isnt particularly tablet friendly.
22 Comments| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2017
It may just be my graphics tablet but I experience a really detrimental cursor-lag on this program. Makes it impossible to see where you're drawing. Beyond that, it's got great features and may come in handy if I upgrade.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2017
For just quick projects this software is great. Extremely simple to use and does help bridge the gap for people just jumping into the digital art world.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2017
quick delivery , but not able to use it fully but good product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2017
very very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2017
brill
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2017
Its like photoshop but easier and better plus if you don't know how to use photoshop you can use Manga Studio first then move on to photoshop, but in my opinion if you want to start drawing anything get this and the Intuos
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2015
What a great piece of software! Better than Photoshop and the others.. This is a great addition to your work if you are a professional drawing/designer! This product is a must buy! 10/10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 27 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)