Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
115
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Another offering in this great-value music-series, again jam-packed with the memories from an earlier
time, with many well known tracks that many will surely remember, and in fact are able to maybe sing
along too, must admit i tend to remember the words to many of the songs from that time as i'm sure
many readers can also do.
Again as i often do when the play-list can be read on it's 'Amazon' page i'll highlight a few tracks that
can be found on each of the two discs.........on disc one.........'The Beatles' --'Love Me Do' (Their first
chart entry way back in 1962)........'Cliff Richard' --'The Young Ones'........'Billy Fury' --'Last Night Was
Made For Love'.........'Del Shannon' --'The Swiss Maid'........'The Everly Brothers' --'Crying In The Rain'
and........'Nat 'King' Cole' --'Rambling Rose'........just a few of the treasures to be found on disc one.....
..on disc two........'The Beatles' --'P.S I Love You' (this was in fact the 'B' side to 'Love Me Do')........
'Mark Winter' --'Venus In Blue Jeans'........'The Cascades' --'Rhythm Of The Rain'(love that track, was
in fact their one and only hit)......'Come Outside' -'Mike Sarne' sung with 'Wendy Richards' ........'Tony Bennett' --
'I Left My Heart In San Francisco'........and........'Burt Bacharach' --'Roseanne'........again just a few tracks
from way back that are still treasured today........i have listed around half a dozen or so tracks from each
of the CD's on-board this 50 number Compilation from the late 50's and early 60's, as is often the case
on collections of this type there are one or two 'B-Sides included, however most are pretty acceptable.
This is another collection currently priced at just £4.99 on 'Amazon' (The Sound Quality is good)
44 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2017
thank you good music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2017
Nice CD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2014
Songs that give joy and sadness together.Wallow in nostalgia.Good to listen too,definitely recommend this one!! Promote this one more,should be one of best
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2017
Brilliant music from a brilliant era
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Dream Makers & Heart Breakers, One Day Music, DAY2CD186

This latest One Day Music compilation comprises 50 tracks from a large range of artists of the very late 1950s to 1962. The CDs now include The Beatles; Elvis Presley & Cliff Richard all of whom fit into the public domain along with a host of artists whose work has crept into the public domain over the past 5 years or so. The running times add up to a little over 2 hours for the set and of course as most of the songs were singles shorter running times apply but you still get 50 tracks. It was good to hear Mark Wynter on CD2 singing one of his biggest hits "Venus in Blue Jeans" and to know that he is still active today mainly as an actor although he has been in the London West End in Dreamboats and Petticoats and could be seen singing some of his hits with the cast at the end of the show.
The mix of grown up singers and youngsters is just as I remember both radio and television of the period. Many of the songs on this CD set were featured in the pre show music for the stage musical Summer Holiday that toured in the middle 1990s. Joe Brown sings "A Picture of You" and I saw his picture on a billboard advertising his latest UK tour in 2013 so he is still top of lots of people's pops.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2013
Loved this CD. So many of our favourites from our teenage years!
Just one not so good thing about it - the reproduction is not top class, but certainly "listenable" and enjoyable.
Some tracks we weren't familiar with, such as Gene Pitney's "Half Heaven - Half Heartache" & Dennis Turner's "Lover Please", also Leroy Van Dyke's version of "Walk On By" - would have much preferred Dionne Warwick's version of that one. My favourite - Mark Wynter's "Venus In Blue Jeans", & my partner's favourite -
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
I gave this cd 4 stars as I do really like it and I can sing-a-long with it . I would have given 5, but the fact that I can sing-a-long to it isn't always a good thing so I'm told. !!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)