Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 7 September 2013
I'm planning to take early retirement soon and set up my own consultancy business.
This guide provides the information I need and is bang up to date.
There are a bunch of chapters that aren't applicable if you are a sole trader but its still well worth the investment.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2012
This does a great job in covering all the basics that you need to consider when starting a business.
It is a great resource to dip into and also has lots of references where you can find more detailed information. It has a lot less fluff than many similar books and is very practical.

It is a lot more comprehensive than other business start up books that I have read and it is certainly the best one volume reference on the market.

It concentrates a lot more on giving you helpful information rather than just giving the reader a little bit of short term motivation.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2015
If you're even thinking about starting a business, but this book now and throw all your other business startup books away so you're not tempted to read those instead.

This is a goldmine of practical, well researched information covering most aspects of small business management which stands in sharp contrast to so many business books which are either a personal biography of limited applicability or one trendy idea with a snappy title padded out to fill a paperback.

Disclaimer - I am a sucker for business startup books and own several hundred. This is hands down the best - at least for a UK audience.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2013
I was self employed for 15 years, and now teach a 'Start Your Own Business' course at evening classes. This is my recommended course book, as it contains everything you're likely to need to know. It's the only book I know that is updated and reprinted every year, with revised financial information, phone numbers & web addresses etc. Practical down-to-earth advice written in an easy to understand way. Thoroughly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2013
This book has been a frequent and invaluable source of reference as I go through the steps to setting up my own business. good coverage of practical matters such as VAT as well as insights into the personality traits and approaches that are required. Highly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2013
Only read the first chapter and skimmed over the rest but it is amazing. So helpful I definitely recommend to others really informative and detail. Great resource
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2013
Good sound advice and extremely helpful.

You need to ensure you understand the information before you move to other pages.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2013
Great book. I'm really pleased as it's really comprehensive and covers most basis. Great place to start. I would highly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2013
Really good book and very informative for the things I needed to know. Good investment for a small business and that
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2013
Very detailed and well written guide about starting up a new business with excellent hints and tips (in the UK only)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)