Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 August 2016
By far the best biography of Reed, this biography probably does most to get into Reed's mindset. Unlike most dipsomaniac actors who fell into the depths of the bottle, Ollie Reed appears to have been able to make a choice - drink to excess and make a nuisance of himself or knuckle down and be one of the most sought after actors around the world. There is no doubt that Reed was able to switch off his gargantuan appetite for booze at will, and seldom drank on his own, but he basically liked having fun and alcohol was his way of kicking back. This book is great in that, although his antics were sometimes hilarious to read about, it pulls no punches in also portraying Reed as an intimidating, offensive, bullying and dangerous character when in his cups. Some people loved him and were able to work with him regularly like Ken Russell and Michael Winner, but many film-makers and actors grew tired of his behaviour and never wanted to work with him again. The book draws a lot of insights from his brothers, children and ex-wives. It is such a shame that he died after his successful 'final chance' to relight his career in Gladiator which was never built upon.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
I love reading about the lives of my favourite stars and this book was the best of the lot! Ollie Reed lived as much of an action packed life as the character's he performed on screen. This outstanding life story doesn't just tell you how crazy and funny, larger than life and adventurous he was but it shows how his lonely upbringing shaped and moulded him. From his heights of fame and through the years where he was seen as too much of a liability to be given major roles to his emotional final return to form as Proximo in Gladiator for which he deserved an Oscar. I always admired his Party-Animal, Playboy reputation but I also think he was a Great Great Actor and this is such a great and at times emotional tribute to him. It covers every facet of an amazing life!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2017
Whilst the book can be repetitive it gives a good honest account of his life. I wish there were more like him in the world. It was good to see photos with this too which have been missing in other kindle versions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2017
Highly recommended to anyone interested in understanding more about one of the UK's greatest screen actors.

Ollie Reed was unique and this book shows many examples of his "Mr Nice & Mr Nasty" sides.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2017
Great book. Good conditiOn
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2016
Excellent
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2017
Bought this as a gift for Father's Day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2013
Just how I really imagined it to be, great actor but a complete looney off screen, but very down to earth character. Good reading if you are an Olly Reed fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2017
I enjoyed the book but was left undecided whether I liked Oliver Reed or not, not that he would have given a fig. I found his penchant for getting his 'fishing tackle' out as it were, at any available opportunity left me thinking that he clearly had problems in the sex department. His overall behaviour in general did leave me wondering whether he had underlying mental instability which in those days would not be recognised. I reckon if he were in his prime today and behaving like he did, especially the constant exposing himself he would have been locked up for quite a while. Was his acting abilities as good as everyone says, not sure about that, yes he made a brilliant Bill Sykes in Oliver and I have been watching some of his other films but my own personal feelings are that there were better actors about at the same time. I would not deny however that he had a presence on screen, but did not have to do much in the way of acting to project it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2015
A comprehensive presentation of a talented man with some baggage that most of the rest of the world did not know about. Another side is shown suggesting that his public "performance" hid a deeply concerned and sensitive character who really cared about people - and life!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)