Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
12
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 April 2013
In case some people have not heard of Yamanaka Sadao, many experts (for example Donald Richie) consider that he would have been one of the greatest, if not the greatest, Japanese directors of all time if he had lived. Unfortunately the wartime Japanese government wasn't a fan of his satirical films and they sent Yamanaka to the front lines to get killed.
I've seen two of the three jidai-geki (i.e. historical films featuring samurai) released in this new boxed set.They are both masterpieces, and 'Tange Sazen,' in particular is one of the best comedies ever made, as far as I'm concerned. I am very excited that they are finally releasing a decent, remastered transfer through Masters of Cinema.
These films should be seen by everyone. Period.
33 comments| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2014
Yamanaka's early death is surly one of the saddest blows ever dealt to the art of film, but the destruction of the majority of his movies is probably one of the biggest. The three complete works that remain are beautifully crafted films and it is clear to see the influence they had on the likes of better known directors such as Akira Kurosawa and Kenji Mizoguchi. This DVD set from Masters of Cinema is one of the best that I've ever bought and is a proud part of my collection. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2013
A DVD to cherish, this is a beautifully restored edition that should be in everybody's film collection.
Cannot rate it highly enough.
22 comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
,,,to see that only 3 full length movies survived by this lesser known Japanese director who sadly died so young. Nevertheless he made many movies and you can see a few short extra's on the discs what might have been but this DVD set is already one to cherish and to hold until eternity. Yamanaka was apparantly a good friend of the great Ozu. Yamanaka's films are now out for all of you to discover ( or not ). His tablets have rolled down the mountain. Highest possible recommendation.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2014
lot of people know ozu , mizoguchi or kursoawa of course. Yamanaka is really a good director as well.
his humanity and paper ballons fellt like a mix of all 3 directors with his own style. :)

the DVD look decent enough for DVD. but thats it. but, its probably the best as it will get (ever). so you should get this collection before it goes OOP like the naruse box from MoC.
you can compare the video quality to the Artifical eye bluray mizoguchi box.

the DVD box looks great. the is a video commentary by tony ryans and a nice booklet withalot of information. overall i recommend this set
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2014
Different to many other DVDs of this era - a good sense of humour
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2016
I got this on impulse as I like Japanese period films and I was total surprised by how good these film films are.
The only let down is that it is not available on Blu-Ray.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2016
Fabulous item as described. Prompt dispatch, safe and sound. Top marks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2016
Bit disappointing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2014
It's a pity there are so very few preserved films by Yamanaka. A must for all Japanese cinema aficionados. Al so a must for any film buff
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse