Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
41
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 26 January 2015
This is an amazingly good set of well restored tip-top Westerns, seven in glorious colour and three in good black and white. I've already watched the two that I especially wanted and taken a look through the others and am very pleased with what I see. The two I've watched are:

WHISPERING SMITH - this is in superb colour, with Alan Ladd looking particularly young and handsome, (a bit like his famous Shane character), playing a quietly spoken railroad detective on the trail of robbers, including his former friend, played sturdily by Robert Preston. It has a good storyline and direction, with terrific outdoor shots and some exquisite sets. A real joy!

TOMAHAWK - This one is directed by George Sherman (Shane, Giant) with impressive acting from Van Heflin as an army scout trying to unite the white settlers with the Sioux. Alex Nicol is equally impressive as a blood thirsty 'pretty-boy' cavalry officer doing just the opposite. The Montana scenery is particularly gorgeous, with lots of wide open spaces consisting of lush green plains, broken up by small inland cliffs, which makes for some skilled and intricate riding scenes. It's based on the true story of the Battle for Powder River which took place in 1876.

UPDATE: I've watched all the films now, and they range from pretty good to excellent.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2014
There are so many reviews about this collection I decided not to bother...However, I finally felt compelled....This collection has got to be the greatest value for quality and price that's ever been offered...In the past I have paid more for one vintage western than this whole collection put together.The colour and sound is as if they were released yesterday.Even the couple of B/W are first class....OK, I've no need to say anymore, I just felt I needed to tell anyone interested how it is...Oh, there is one more thing...The sleeve I received is not the one displayed...It's not in colour, it's Sepia, and the layout is different..Slight disappointment, but the content is the same...Happy viewing.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2014
this is a true western fans dream box set 10 good to great films for less than 70p each yee hah! all the films are great prints so saddle up and relive those saturday matinee film shows.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2014
We all think"oh no loads of westerns on a couple of discs gonna be rotten",no they are not,the company is UNIVERSAL who have released this little gem,but just make sure you got a reg 1 player or multi region one,all good quality westerns from 1948-50 era.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2014
Great selection of overlooked westerns. Really good price for the 10 movies. Would recommend this to any western fans. Most are of a good quality
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2014
Some good films, some not so good, easy to use menus, picture fits the whole screen which is great! all in all for western fans a great collection on 3 discs!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2016
Excellent collection of ten Hollywood westerns, mostly from the 40's with some from the early 50's. All films seem to have been restored as the picture quality is excellent. The first 3 are black & white, with the rest in colour. Not being big budget films they were all filmed in 1.33:1 full screen ratio. American consumers seem to demand greater value for their money than in the UK. You just don't get ten film collections for this price on region 2. Well worth £6.00 of anyone's money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2014
this is a superior collection of movies.
all are GOOD films worthy of watching time and time again....
will be looking to purchase more from this source...
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2013
Culled from the Universal/Paramount archives, this set features a good cross-section of cowboy stars Randolph Scott, Audie Murphy, Joel McCrea and John Wayne. Picture and sound quality are first-class. The 10 films presented on a 3-DVD set are very watchable and the price - unbelievable! Recommended.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2014
i am very pleased with the purchase of the classic western. collection
thank you very much
b j ruddle.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)