Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
11
4.6 out of 5 stars
New Orleans Gris Gris: Voodoo Grooves From The Crescent City
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.28+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 5 December 2016
A terrific compilation and wonderful introduction if needed to New Orleans music other than Trad Jazz. Some well known names Dr John, Lee Dorsey, Fats Domino etc are joined by by lesser known artists performing some absolute classics. Throughout you can hear the influence of the late great Allen Toussaint. Tremendous value for money. Buy It.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2016
I am a dyed in the wool Classics fan, with the occasional Trad Jazz experience thrown in, so buying this disc was completely outside the box for me.
Oh Boy, what a surprise, I found it absolutely enchanting. Thank you Amazon for putting it in my maybe slot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2015
Good sampler although possibly not all the music is of New Orleans origin, nevertheless I would highly recommend at at the price.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2015
Was not my sort of music so i gave it to a friend and she love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2015
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2015
Not as good as I'd hoped but still good value. Fast delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2013
What a killer collection of voodoo,funky ,blues,soul,rock,swampy beautifully put together every song has the feel of the earth dr john kicks off an then its a runaway train of a cd i love it and if you like great music you will too.new orleans at your fingertips
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2015
Being into Blues, RnB, and most pre-1980's musical stuff from the Southern States, I wasn't too sure what I may be buying with no sampler tracks to hear. I needn't have worried as this album is just great. some of the tracks are familiar ( Dr John's, Lee Dorsey's, Slim Harpo's and Clarence Frogman Henry's ) but I'd never heard most of the others tracks before. However, every track contributes to a good gumbo of tasty tunes. I absolutely love Skip Easterlings ' I'm Your Hootchie Cootchie Man', which takes the Muddy Waters' classic into wholly new, slinkily soulful, territory with it's musical arrangement, and it's good. It is a bit cheeky to have, on disc1 ( track 20 ) James Sugarboy Crawford doing 'Jock-A-Mo' and The Dixie Cups, on disc 2 ( track 20 ), doing 'Iko-Iko'. It's the same song, but both versions are superb and done in differing styles. I did have a laugh at Huey Piano Smith's ' Tu-Ber-Cu- Lucas & The Sinus Blues', as the tune is more familiar to most of us as the arrangement for 'Rockin' Pneumonia & The Boogie-Woogie Flu'. So, different lyrics are fine by me. If your wondering about buying this 2 disc set, just dive in. It is definitely worth the dosh. I have many thousands of hours of music on a computer and transferring this cd set onto it is a very welcome inclusion.

Eamonn
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2013
Hi FOlks!

This is a Very cool Orleans collection of 40 trks on 2 CD's for less than fiver ... released by Metro select.

I have several Orleans budget comps, so there are a good few tracks I've heard before ...

However thats fine with me ...

Lots of dapper toons & artists.

The sound is excellent.

Packaging is really really nice - Digi pack, fold out poster with notes on the Artists on the reverse.

Just look at that cover - It's beautiful!!

Whether a new comer or a long time lover of all things New Orleans this is release is worth the pick up.

10/10

^ ^
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2016
I picked this up from the library in town. I know next to nothing about the New Orleans vibe but loved it. So many great tracks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse