Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 19 January 2013
In a reply to someone else's review fish have gotten in to tenders before especially when the water tower is fed directly from the river as to locomotives being driven from the right all locomotives designs were different some were driven from the right other's from the left for example all of the GWR engines were right hand driven were as some of the LNER were right hand driven such as the o1s hope this helps to the other person's enquiry.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2014
There are much better railway memories around. That said, it's got some interesting stories. I found it a bit 'scrappy'; too lightweight. Lots of short anecdotes, rather than painting a detailed story of the life and times of the age of steam.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2016
Interesting to read about the GCR in the 1950s and 60s but the simplistic descriptions of work on the footplate will not be for the seasoned reader of other railway reminiscences.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2013
A Great book absolutely true to life. I'm an ex gc fireman of the same era.a really great read. Brings back memories of the extra curricular activities.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2012
I bought this as a Christmas present for my dad. He enjoys reading books about different jobs in the railway being an ex railwayman himself. The book contains really lovely illustrations and I'm sure he will be very pleased to receive it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2013
I started to read this on March 2nd. I finished it on March 2nd! Not like me but this was a really charming book. My dad did the same job as the author and it brought back a lot of memories. No photos, all custom drawings, brilliant. Mush more evocotive. I would recommend this to anyone interested in Britain's railways.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2013
What a brilliant insight into a bygone age of steam travel! It would have been fantastic to see a steam powered engine roll along our beautiful British valleys and this book transports me back to a time I wasn't lucky enough to experience. It is not only historical, but also amusing and superbly illustrated. Smashing!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2013
This book brings back memories of the great days of steam engines. It is particularly useful for volunteers on the heritage lines. It is also a reminder for the armchair enthusiasts who wanted to be a train driver when they were boys.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2013
Fantastic book telling the tales ad days on the footplate. This book is great and definitely worth a read as it tells the story of fireman and driver.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2016
this was bought as a present but went down very well everyone who read it thought it was great. Very good purchase for lovers of steam.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)